The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:10am
Official Forum Member

I Need Some Advice

Hello All,
I would like to ask some advice from some of the veteran officials on the forum. I have been officiating for 5 years on the High School Varsity level. I have been invited to my first College camp/tryout. I am trying to get an idea about what the assigners will be looking for. What should I work on that would be different from what I do at the High School level. As I know most officials do, I take what I do in my strips seriously. I would really like to make a good impression and hopefully get assigned some games next season. So I would really like to partake of the wisdom of the forum. Any tips or feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

By the way this is a Women’s JUCO Camp.
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:22am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Every observer is different. They all see different things. So my advice is simply to work your game. Do the things have made you successful so far. Hustle, listen (to coaches and observers), communicate (with coaches and partners), and make good calls. Make sure you look the part -- posture and uniform -- and work hard. What else can you do, really? Good luck.
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:32am
Official Forum Member

Chuck,
I am pretty excited about the opportunity, and I plan to make the most of it. thanks for taking the time to reply.
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:38am
Official Forum Member

Talking

Women's JUCO...hmmm...be tall and be a woman? Sorry I couldn't resist. Chuck said it well. Good luck. I went to my first Juco camps last summer and hopefully soon the contracts will be coming. The hard part for me as a single guy was not hitting on some of the players.
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:52am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker