![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Intentional Foul in act of shooting & the try is successful…
An intentional foul committed in the act of shooting and with a successful basket by A1, does not clearly state within the NFHS Rule Book that the shooter shall receive 1 or 2 shots.
It only gives a clear example in the Case book, page 25, 4.19.3 Situation A. How many shots should be attempted by the shooter if intentionally fouled in the act of shooting and the basket is successful? |
|
|||
Penalty for an Intentional Foul is 2 shots whether the shot goes in or not...
the only exception is a missed 3 pointer will result in 3 shots...and they get the ball back at the spot nearest the foul. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() See NFHS rule 10-6PENALTIES- #4, 5 & 6. They cover all intentional fouls and all situations. #4covers your particular question. It's at the bottom of p.66 and top of p.67of the rule book. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Mar 30, 2006 at 06:30pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Rule 10 Summary #4. Two free throws if intentional or flagrant, plus ball for throw-in. This sentence does not define whether it applies to a try that is successful or unsuccessful. It is defined in the Case Book Study but we all interpret #4 to mean during the act of shooting and a try or tap is successful or not, then award 2 free throws and ball for a throw-in. For Rule 10 Summary #5, it defines an intentional foul in act of shooting and a try is unsuccessful shall give the shooter two free throws on a 2 point try. Rule 10 Summary #2. One Free throw if fouled in the act of shooting and two- or three-point try or tap is successful.... applies to which technical or is it referring to all techs? I feel there is an error in the Rule Book publication. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Technical fouls are being discussed there and we all know an intentional foul on A1 will give the player two free throws plus the ball on a throw-in. What you are reading after Rule 10-6 Contact on page 66 is separate information called, PENALTIES Rule 10 Summary and has nothing to do with following in conjunction with Rule 10-6. Rule 10 Summary does discuss all technical penalties and refers to all of them in summary format. All of us agree to issue 2 shots on a try that is successful, yet I feel the Rule Book does not fully clarify as to whether you are given 1 or 2 shots for a successful try or tap while being fouled intentionally. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Two free throws if intentional or flagrant, plus ball for throw-in. It makes no difference whether there's a shot or not. That's why it's unnecessary to address whether the shot is good or not good.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Well, when you get on the NFHS Rule Committee, feel free to make the change.
Doesn't the Case Book clarify it for you? Tha'ts what the Case Book does. That's why it's there. It's a necessary supplement to the Rule Book? Let me ask you this. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting. As he goes to the line, you wanr him to tuck his shirt tail in. He doesn't and takes his first FT. Now what do you do and where can I find it in the Rule Book?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
See case book play 4.19.3SitA(a)-- "A1 is awarded two free throws...in all situations following the free throws, team A is awarded a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul". See GENERAL INFORMATION in the FOREWARD of the case book. That says "the interpretations and rulings for all play situations have been approved by the rules committee and are official". If it's clearly stated in the case book, then it's an approved and official NFHS ruling. Are you trying to say that isn't true? It doesn't matter if rule book language is a little fuzzy if there is a very explicit case book play giving a definitive ruling. |
|
|||
Quote:
An old man announces his intention to marry a beautiful young woman but he is persuaded to have a medical exam first. "Doc, everyone tells me I need a checkup to see if I'm sexually fit," "O.K," says the doctor, "Let me see your sex organs." So the old guy sticks out his tongue and his middle finger. ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? | brightstripes54 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm |
Shooting foul or possession | PHSCoach | Basketball | 9 | Sat Feb 05, 2005 05:44pm |
Is it a shooting foul? | theboys | Basketball | 9 | Fri Jan 07, 2005 06:10am |
Shooting Foul | mbloise | Basketball | 3 | Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:27am |
Foul shooting | John Choiniere | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 20, 1999 02:19am |