![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Let me say this first, yes your whacking the kid for trying to bring attention to himself, but at the same time there is no reason to have a tech if the ball goes in the hole, leave it alone, cause the way I interpret this is that it is just like calling an off ball foul while another player is in the act of shooting, if it goes you have to count the basket as well, you can't just say I am waving it off because it didn't leave his hand before i blew my whistle or something of that sort. IMO if you call the tech make sure the ball doesn't go in the hole.
With the kid making the legit attempt on the ball, I think by rule you have to leave it alone or call a tech. As far as I have read there is no rule that says that if in the officials judgement he thinks the player makes a play on the ball, but still slaps the board hard enough that it shakes the rim hard enough for the ball not to go in that you can call BI, but I don't think that would keep me from calling BI if this type of situation arose. SamIam in HS the ball will be at half court in College I am pretty certain it is an unsportsmanlike Tech and POI, I could be wrong though. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Anyway....the reason for the tech is to penalize a player for trying to bring attention to himself. The judgement involved is whether the defender was legitimately trying to block the shot or was just whacking the board to make noise. Whether the ball goes in or not is never relevant to the call in any way.2) Wrong. You can't call a "T" by rule ever on a legitimate attempt to make a block. See the COMMENT in case book play 10.3.5. The interpretation is exactly the same in NCAA. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
My point in 2 was that by rule you can't have BI so if you want to give the kid two points or an attempt at two points because the basket didn't go in, then the only things that is backed by rule is a T. It is your judgement that decides if he slapped the backboard or not to draw attention to himself, so even if you think he made a legit attempt you could tell the coach that he was trying to draw attention, and there would be people agree with you and not. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It's one or the other-- either the defender was trying to draw attention or he was trying to block a shot. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I get what you are saying, but you're not going to give or give a chance for two points to the kid when, also in your judgement, that the ring vibrated so much that you believe it caused the ball to come out of the goal? I am just saying by rule the only thing you can give is a T, but you would have to tell the coach that he was trying to draw attention. I am not going to screw this team on two points that I believe they should have. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Or, are you saying that if B attempts a block, and slaps the backboard, and the ball doesn't go in, you're going to call it a T, even though it wasn't intentional? If either (or both) of those are true, then I have to ask what sport you are officiating, because it isn't basketball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you come and charge a technical foul for this because you believe that the offense is getting screwed out of two points that they should have, then all you are really doing is screwing the defensive team for making a legal play. Very bad.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Basket Interference | johnnyrao | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 24, 2006 02:43am |
| Basket Interference | tjchamp | Basketball | 12 | Tue Sep 14, 2004 09:15am |
| Basket Interference | mplagrow | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:33am |
| Basket Interference? | RoyalsCoach | Basketball | 29 | Thu Jan 29, 2004 12:43pm |
| basket interference | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 17 | Thu May 29, 2003 11:23am |