![]() |
|
|
|||
LSU/Stanford charge (Women's)
Any opinions on the Charge call on Wiggins?
IMO Agustus was there initially but then threw her body into Wiggins and then, well I don't want to say flopped, but exxagerated the contact and fell to the ground (would that be the definition of a flop? ![]() Again, I'm not an Elite 8 official, but JMO that maybe that could've been a no call or a Block. BTW, the Stanford player hit the 3-pointer after the crash.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
However on instant reply I shut up pretty quick. It looked like it may have been a block but I didn't see a great angle. I thought as a whole the crew did pretty good, if Gator gets to the final four, we should all send him a pair of shoes. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Another thought...the PC call was made by the T. Notice that the L did not blow his whistle or make any sort of mechanic, and this was certainly close, if not w/n, a possible double coverage area. Then watch the mechanics of the T, no fist, straight into the wave-off, then punch. Close play like that, could have been a possible blarge. Thoughts?
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much. |
|
|||
Quote:
I've stated that while one official, in this case the Trail, could have A1 and B1 in his primary when the play starts and then stay with those two players, another official, in this case the Lead, has the secondary defender, B2, in his primary the whole time. This other official is then the one watching that defender. Therefore, it makes sense that this other official would have the best knowledge of the secondary defender's positioning. Since it is this defender and not B1 who is invovled in the crash with the offensive player, I've been advocating that we let the official from whose primary the secondary defender comes make the decision on the play. So in this case I would have prefered the Lead make the call. The Lead has the best idea of whether or not that defender got there in time. The T was focused on the dribbler and her initial defender which is no longer in the play. That is how I have been pregaming it lately. Of course, if the Lead doesn't make a call for some odd reason and needs help, then the T is the helper and should come get it. Lastly, this was in an NCAA womens' game and I know that NCAAW floor coverage is different and that could have mattered on this play as the Lead is responsible for that 3pt shooter in the corner. I don't care for this, but that is the way they do it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Both are legitimate but different methods of playing defense. Why is it suddenly up to the official to decide which tactic the team has to use? Quote:
|
|
|||
Team Control ??
Did I miss something on this play but why did LSU shoot the foul shots? If this was a team control foul, which I believe it was because the ball had clearly left the offensive players hands on the pass then the contact occurred. Wouldn't LSA get the ball a spot of the foul. Doesn't team control exists on a pass. In any event I thought Augustus took the free throws.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Nate |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Wash/Stanford game | blindzebra | Basketball | 12 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 03:21pm |
CIS Women's Rule Changes | Dribble | Basketball | 9 | Thu Aug 19, 2004 06:21pm |
Question about O-O-B call in Tenn-Stanford game | Jimgolf | Basketball | 9 | Fri Apr 02, 2004 02:08pm |
Camp for OVC women's | WV ref in OH | Basketball | 0 | Sun Feb 08, 2004 05:50pm |
UT vs UT women's end of game | mdray | Basketball | 13 | Tue Dec 24, 2002 02:57am |