The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 2.67 average. Display Modes
Old Tue Mar 21, 2006, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member

New Referee Here

OK, I have been refing for about 2 months and I really want to get better. I just had a really bad week last week and am trying to shake that off. Really, what do all you experienced referees do to get better. Im sure all of you were at least at the low level of skill I am at. I want to watch videos on how to get better. What should I do? Any websites or magazines? Just please explain how all of you got where you are today and how you gained the confidence to become the best referee possible. I am only 16 so I have a lot of time for improvement but as you might guess the crowd is a little bit harder on me because when you see a kid (same could apply for women) on the court if you are not perfect the crowd hates you (even when you make a good call). Thanks for the help.
Old Tue Mar 21, 2006, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
OK, I have been refing for about 2 months and I really want to get better. I just had a really bad week last week and am trying to shake that off. Really, what do all you experienced referees do to get better. Im sure all of you were at least at the low level of skill I am at. I want to watch videos on how to get better. What should I do? Any websites or magazines? Just please explain how all of you got where you are today and how you gained the confidence to become the best referee possible. I am only 16 so I have a lot of time for improvement but as you might guess the crowd is a little bit harder on me because when you see a kid (same could apply for women) on the court if you are not perfect the crowd hates you (even when you make a good call). Thanks for the help.