The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
AP arrow only applies if there is no team control. If there is player and/or team control (including an interrupted dribble) the ball goes back to the offense. If IW occurs during the flight of a shot and basket is made then IW is ignored, if shot is missed you go to the AP arrow.

BTW, there was an IW in one of Tennessee's games this past weekend where an official anticipated a traveling call on Lofton.
From what I remember reading, an IW doesn't consider possession - do you have a rule reference on this one? I tried looking, but couldn't find it.
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:50am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
From what I remember reading, an IW doesn't consider possession - do you have a rule reference on this one? I tried looking, but couldn't find it.
From the NCAA Rule Book: 6-3-1g; 7-5-20 (includes AR 16)

My NFHS book is in my car and it's too cold to run out there and get it
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 10:38pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
From the NCAA Rule Book: 6-3-1g; 7-5-20 (includes AR 16)

My NFHS book is in my car and it's too cold to run out there and get it
If you had a remote start you could warm the book up. Then it would not be too cold.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
From what I remember reading, an IW doesn't consider possession - do you have a rule reference on this one? I tried looking, but couldn't find it.
NFHS
ACCIDENTAL WHISTLE
*7.5.4 SITUATION: An official sounds his/her whistle accidentally: (a) while A1 is dribbling and in player control; (b) while Team A is in control and passing among teammates; (c) while A1's unsuccessful try attempt is in flight; or (d) while A's successful try attempt is in flight. RULING: The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (a) and (b), Team A is awarded a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where the ball was when the whistle was accidentally sounded. In (c), the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure. In (d), even though, by rule, there is no team control during this dead-ball period, the ball would be given to Team B for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. Team B would have clearly received the ball had the official not accidentally sounded his/her whistle. (7-4-4; 4-12-3,6; 4-36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1