The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
When does the ten second count officially stop? Does the ball have to be controlled by a player in the frontcourt within ten seconds, or does it just have to be across the halfcourt line in that time? If the ball is in thrown across the midcourt line but is still in the air without being touched in the frontcourt when the ten seconds expires, is that a violation?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
If the ball is still in the air when your ten second count ends it is a violation. It doesn't mean anything when the ball crosses the divison line in the air.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
By the way, Welcome to the forum
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
But don't most of us exercise a little benevolence on that call, in reality?
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks. That's the way I thought it should be called as well. We're having a discussion on this in an Arkansas fan forum. This should clear it up.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2006, 12:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,005
The count does not end until the offensive team has established control in the frontcourt.

Example: The official is counting and is at 8. A1 passes the ball into the frontcourt. B1, standing in the frontcourt, jumps up and taps the ball back into the backcourt, where it is recovered by A1. The count continues through all of this, and, if the official gets to 10 before the ball can be recovered by A1 and advanced into the frontcourt, violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2006, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
The count does not end until the offensive team has established control in the frontcourt.

Example: The official is counting and is at 8. A1 passes the ball into the frontcourt. B1, standing in the frontcourt, jumps up and taps the ball back into the backcourt, where it is recovered by A1. The count continues through all of this, and, if the official gets to 10 before the ball can be recovered by A1 and advanced into the frontcourt, violation.
The count ends when the ball attains frontcourt location. See 9.8 Situation B.

9-9: "A player shall not be, nor shall his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."

[Edited by assignmentmaker on Mar 18th, 2006 at 01:34 PM]
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2006, 02:31am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The ball doesn't need to be controlled in the front court. Touching any player or the floor in the FC is enough to terminate the count.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2006, 05:35am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
But don't most of us exercise a little benevolence on that call, in reality?
I do not. I've had this call once in my career. B1 is pressuring A1 right from the BC endline throw-in. B1 played excellent defense and A1 was about 8 feet from the DL when my count was at 8. A1 decides to pass the ball to A2, wide open in the corner in the FC! Good pass, except that is took a bit to get there. By the time A1 got some mustard behind the pass and the ball is in the air, I'm at 10. I hit 11 when A2 catches the ball.

I called the 10-second violation at the a 10.5 second mark.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2006, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,375
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
The count does not end until the offensive team has established control in the frontcourt.

Example: The official is counting and is at 8. A1 passes the ball into the frontcourt. B1, standing in the frontcourt, jumps up and taps the ball back into the backcourt, where it is recovered by A1. The count continues through all of this, and, if the official gets to 10 before the ball can be recovered by A1 and advanced into the frontcourt, violation.
Not true. When B1 tapped the ball, the ball had FC status. The count stops. When the ball goes back to teh BC, the count begins anew -- A has another 10 seconds to advance the ball to the FC.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2006, 09:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
The count does not end until the offensive team has established control in the frontcourt.

Example: The official is counting and is at 8. A1 passes the ball into the frontcourt. B1, standing in the frontcourt, jumps up and taps the ball back into the backcourt, where it is recovered by A1. The count continues through all of this, and, if the official gets to 10 before the ball can be recovered by A1 and advanced into the frontcourt, violation.
Not true. When B1 tapped the ball, the ball had FC status. The count stops. When the ball goes back to teh BC, the count begins anew -- A has another 10 seconds to advance the ball to the FC.

As per case book play 9.8SitD.......
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2006, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally posted by bhopkins32
When does the ten second count officially stop? Does the ball have to be controlled by a player in the frontcourt within ten seconds, or does it just have to be across the halfcourt line in that time? If the ball is in thrown across the midcourt line but is still in the air without being touched in the frontcourt when the ten seconds expires, is that a violation?

bhop,

I saw the play you guys are talking about over there. Technically, it was a violation, but this play is rarely called a violation at that level.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2006, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
The count does not end until the offensive team has established control in the frontcourt.

Example: The official is counting and is at 8. A1 passes the ball into the frontcourt. B1, standing in the frontcourt, jumps up and taps the ball back into the backcourt, where it is recovered by A1. The count continues through all of this, and, if the official gets to 10 before the ball can be recovered by A1 and advanced into the frontcourt, violation.
Nope. When the ball touched B1, it attained FC status. New count.

Just in case you hadn't already been told!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2006, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
A question folks...if a timeout is called halfway into the 10 second count does it continue when the ball is inbounded again? In other words, if the count gets to 5, and then a timeout is called, does it pick up again there after the timeout and inbounds touch?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2006, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by thereluctantref
A question folks...if a timeout is called halfway into the 10 second count does it continue when the ball is inbounded again? In other words, if the count gets to 5, and then a timeout is called, does it pick up again there after the timeout and inbounds touch?
No, the 10 second count is reset.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1