The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 259
A1 drives to the basket, B1 steps in front. The Lead calls charge and the Center calls block. The classic BLARGE. Is possesion determined by the arrow?
__________________
Nate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 12:29pm
mj mj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 461
Yes. Count it if it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally posted by mj
Yes. Count it if it goes.
What?? The question is who's ball is it? Is it determined by the posssesion arrow???
__________________
Nate
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
NO.

High School:
The play is dead if the ball is in the players hands. You then go to point of interruption and give the ball back to the offense at the spot of the foul.

If the ball is in the air then I believe you wave off the basket. But I'm not sure about this. You would then go to AP Arrow.

College:
AP Arrow & Reset shot clock.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
College:
AP Arrow & Reset shot clock.
I'm not convinced of this, although I'm in the minority. http://officialforum.com/thread/25138
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 12:55pm
PAOfficial
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hoop is not good.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 01:30pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart

College:
AP Arrow & Reset shot clock.
How about we say "College Men" for this ruling...because in NCAAW we aren't going to have a blarge...we get together, decide whose primary area it was, and go with their call. So NCAAW will not go AP Arrow and reset...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
High School:

If the ball is in the air then I believe you wave off the basket. But I'm not sure about this.


Originally posted by PAOfficial
Hoop is not good.
Guys, in both HS and NCAA (men's), if the shot has been released at the time of the contact, then it counts if it goes in. This is a double foul, so there is no player control foul to consider. Score the basket.

In HS, you would then let the opponents of the team that just scored have a throw-in anywhere along the endline. In NCAA, you would go to the arrow.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
in NCAAW we aren't going to have a blarge...we get together, decide whose primary area it was, and go with their call.
And that is, of course, the way it should be. Because it can, in fact, only be one or the other. So decide which one it is and move on. One of the few differences where I like the women's interp better.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 115
In HS the ball is dead. No hoop because of player control foul. Shooter will get two shots because of the blocking foul and you play off the 2nd shot.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 115
Case Book 6.7.4. I stand corrected on the lane being occupied. No on the lane. B ball after make or miss/designated/endline to run.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by wfd21
In HS the ball is dead. No hoop because of player control foul. Shooter will get two shots because of the blocking foul and you play off the 2nd shot.
Not trying to be snotty, but read my previous post. Your interp is completely incorrect. This is NOT a player control foul; it is a double foul. This is straight from the case book, guys. If the shot is in the air, it counts. No shots, either, b/c it's a double foul.

The case is 4.19.8 Situation C.

[Edited by ChuckElias on Feb 23rd, 2006 at 02:38 PM]
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 115
I think case book play 6.7.4 covers it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by wfd21
I think case book play 6.7.4 covers it.
Still not trying to be snotty, but you are still incorrect. 6.7.4 is NOT a blarge. It is a defensive foul FOLLOWED by a player-control foul.

Look at 4.19.8 Situation C. Please. You will be convinced. I promise.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 115
Thanks Chuck, I do stand corrected. Thats why I love this forum. Makes you get into the book!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1