View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 02:48pm
chayce chayce is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to chayce
wfd21, Here is the situation taken directly from the casebook. The basket is good, there are no free throws, and play is resumed at POI. Hope this helps.

Basketball
NFHS
Casebook
Rule 4
4.19.8-C Double Fouls


*SITUATION: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful.
RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)
Reply With Quote