![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Chuck: Under both NFHS and NCAA rules, the Team A's AP Throw-in has not ended because of the double foul between A2 and B2. At this point NFHS rules handles this play differently than NCAA Rules. NFHS: There is no team control during a throw-in. Therefore, when a double personal foul occurs when there is no team control, this is a point of interruption situation. The point of interruption was an AP Throw-in by Team A, so the throw-in is an AP Throw-in by Team A. NCAA: There is team control during a throw-in. Therefore, when a double personal foul occurs, when there is team control, the team who had control of the ball will receive a throw-in nearest the spot of the double foul. This throw-in is not an AP Throw-in; it is the penalty for the double foul by A2 and B2. Team A retains the AP Arrow for the next jump ball situation. For those of you who are wondering why I use the term jump all situation instead of held ball, I used that term because it correctly defines any situation that requires the ball to be put back into play via a jump ball and therefore via an AP Throw-in. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|