View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2006, 02:54am
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
A held ball is called. Arrow is pointing to Team A. While A1 is holding the ball OOB for the throw-in, A2 and B2 commit a double foul.

We go to the POI, which is the throw-in. Is this still considered an AP throw-in? If it were a single foul, the ensuing throw-in would not be an AP throw-in and the arrow would not be switched.

But since we're using the POI, is the POI an AP throw-in; or simply a throw-in?

Had this happen in the game before mine tonight. My partner and I went around on it for about 20 minutes. I can see both sides of it. We decided that if it happened in our game, it would still be an AP throw-in and we would switch the arrow.

Anyone have any other thoughts?
My thought is that - in the absence of much interpretation for the new rule - we should, for clarity, for simplicity, hell, even for consistency, take the idea of POI as literally as possible. If it was an AP throw-in that was interrupted or pending, go with the AP throw-in.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote