The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
My reference to "inbounds or out of bounds" was based on 7-6-1, which states that the throw-in must touch another player inbounds or OOB before going OOB untouched (similarly in 9-2-2). I had incorrectly assumed that the "or OOB" was also included in the definition of when the throw-in ends. But it's not.

I'm sorry if I've confused people. I'm a little confused myself now. How could the throw-in NOT end if it is caught by a player who has one foot OOB? It's not a throw-in violation, right? B/c the thrower has not violated 9-2-2. Hmmmmm.

So A1 has the ball OOB for an AP throw-in. A1 throws the ball and A3 catches the ball with one foot OOB. We have to switch the arrow here, right? But if we say that the throw-in doesn't end when A3 catches it OOB, then we can't switch the arrow. So why isn't that "or OOB" included in the definition of when the throw-in ends?

I must be missing something obvious.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1