The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Exclamation

(from JTRICE)
-----------------------------------------------------------
Held ball.
Possession arrow is pointing toward Team A's basket.
Official hands the ball to A1 for the throw-in.
B1 reaches across the end-line as he is trying to defend the throw-in.
Official blows whistle and warns Team B for crossing the vertical plane on the throw-in. The warning is recorded in the score book.
Official starts the throw-in again.
Throw-in is completed.

Official does NOT change the Possession arrow.
Is the official correct
------------------------------------------------------------

the arrow should have been changed as soon as the ball was at the disposal of the inbounder... shouldn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
The arrow is changed when ANY player inbounds touches the ball to constitute a "Live Ball".
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
yes official is correct...rule 9-2-11, it is now a violation instead of Alt. poss throw in
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Held ball.
Possession arrow is pointing toward Team A's basket.
Official hands the ball to A1 for the throw-in.
B1 reaches across the end-line as he is trying to defend the throw-in.
Official blows whistle and warns Team B for crossing the vertical plane on the throw-in. The warning is recorded in the score book.
Official starts the throw-in again.
Throw-in is completed.

Official does NOT change the Possession arrow.
Is the official correct

The throw-in Violation by B has NO affect on the AP arrow. After the violation is recorded in the book, the A team’s AP throw-in is COMPLETED. As soon as the the throw in is COMPLETED the AP arrow goes to Team B.
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 10:29am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,842
Quote:
Originally posted by FishinRef
Held ball.
Possession arrow is pointing toward Team A's basket.
Official hands the ball to A1 for the throw-in.
B1 reaches across the end-line as he is trying to defend the throw-in.
Official blows whistle and warns Team B for crossing the vertical plane on the throw-in. The warning is recorded in the score book.
Official starts the throw-in again.
Throw-in is completed.

Official does NOT change the Possession arrow.
Is the official correct

The throw-in Violation by B has NO affect on the AP arrow. After the violation is recorded in the book, the A team’s AP throw-in is COMPLETED. As soon as the the throw in is COMPLETED the AP arrow goes to Team B.


FishinRef:

The official was correct in not reversing the AP Arrow. When B1 reached through the plane he committed a throw-in violation; See NFHS R9-S2-A11. Since in this play Team B had not previously received an official team warning, the penalty for B1's violation is that a team warning is issued to Team B and Team A receives a throw-in. This new throw-in is not an AP Throw-in but is part of the penalty for B1's violation. The AP Arrow is not reversed because Team A's AP Throw-in never ended because of B1's violation; see NFHS R4-S42-A5 for the definition of when a throw-in ends.

The next time a jump ball situation occurs, Team A will receive the ball for a AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by tweetz
the arrow should have been changed as soon as the ball was at the disposal of the inbounder... shouldn't it?
Nope, tweetz. The AP arrow is switched when the AP throw-in is complete (is touched by a player inbounds or OOB) or when a throw-in violation is committed.

So if we have an AP throw-in, and A1 has the ball OOB for the throw-in, the arrow is NOT changed if a foul is committed (by either team) before the throw-in is complete. The arrow is also NOT changed if a violation is committed by the defense. The arrow IS changed if a throw-in violation is committed by the inbounding team.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by FishinRef
The arrow is changed when ANY player inbounds touches the ball to constitute a "Live Ball".
Any player, other than the thrower-in, inbounds or out of bounds. And remember that the ball becomes live when it is handed to the inbounder; not when when it is touched inbounds.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
By rule when does the arrow change on a throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by archer
By rule when does the arrow change on a throw in?
Archer, I wrote this just two posts above yours

"The AP arrow is switched when the AP throw-in is complete (is touched by a player inbounds or OOB) or when a throw-in violation is committed."

Hope it's clearer this time.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
Sorry Chuck didnt see your post.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Mark & Chuck, after some serious investigation into my rule book, I now understand your interpretation on this scenario. I stand corrected, thanks for the lesson.
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by archer
Sorry Chuck didnt see your post.
No sweat. That's what copy and paste are for
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163
Now I'm really confused.

Isn't there another thread just like this one? Just when I thought I learned something, I find a new thread with a different answer.

Chuck Elias, I read you definition of when an A.P. throw-in is complete. What is that part in the parenthesis? Is that part of the rule or a part that you added? Could you please site the rule so that I can look it up in the book?

Could this be a difference between NFHS and NCAA rules?

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Via the aforementioned miracle of copy and paste, here you go, Time2Ref:

"The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates." (NFHS 6-4-4)

"The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower." (NFHS 4-42-5)

__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163

That's the rule I've been looking for. (NFHS 4.42.5)

Thanks.

(Yea! I did learn something)

Please accept my humble appology for wasting forum space.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1