The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally posted by GFS-1
Team A is dribbling the ball down court.
Team B Head Coach calls for a Time Out. The Time Out is called
Then Team A Head Coach yells "They don't have possession"
Should Team B been granted the Time Out.
Team B should not have been granted the TO will Team was dribbling, however, after the offical blew his whistle to stop play the NFHS says Team B can have the TO as follows:

5.8.3 Situation E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? Ruling: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.

In my opinion...this is nuts! NFHS should change this. The official makes an error by granting a TO when he should not have and it benefits one team over another.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1