The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time Outs (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24569-time-outs.html)

GFS-1 Sat Jan 28, 2006 07:52am

Team A is dribbling the ball down court.
Team B Head Coach calls for a Time Out. The Time Out is called
Then Team A Head Coach yells "They don't have possession"
Should Team B been granted the Time Out.

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 28, 2006 08:19am

The only argument that I can see *NOT* to grant the request is to rule that the inadvertant whistle had nothing to do with B's request, giving an A throw-in.

In practice, we usually grant the TO. What if he already used his last? Hmm... ref messed up.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:11am

THe TO is granted in FED, even though it's an error.

Not granted in NCAA -- put the ball back in play.

crazy voyager Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:19pm

I say the us switch to FIBA rules so you can't take a time out during play :D

ChuckElias Sat Jan 28, 2006 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crazy voyager
I say the us switch to FIBA rules so you can't take a time out during play :D
This really isn't such a bad idea, although I'd also be fine if they just changed the rule so the TO could only be requested by a player on the court.

Anything that keeps the coach from requesting a TO is a good thing, IMO.

Kajun Ref N Texas Sat Jan 28, 2006 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by GFS-1
Team A is dribbling the ball down court.
Team B Head Coach calls for a Time Out. The Time Out is called
Then Team A Head Coach yells "They don't have possession"
Should Team B been granted the Time Out.

Team B should not have been granted the TO will Team was dribbling, however, after the offical blew his whistle to stop play the NFHS says Team B can have the TO as follows:

5.8.3 Situation E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? Ruling: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.

In my opinion...this is nuts! NFHS should change this. The official makes an error by granting a TO when he should not have and it benefits one team over another.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1