The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Question

Team A is dribbling the ball down court.
Team B Head Coach calls for a Time Out. The Time Out is called
Then Team A Head Coach yells "They don't have possession"
Should Team B been granted the Time Out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 08:19am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
The only argument that I can see *NOT* to grant the request is to rule that the inadvertant whistle had nothing to do with B's request, giving an A throw-in.

In practice, we usually grant the TO. What if he already used his last? Hmm... ref messed up.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
THe TO is granted in FED, even though it's an error.

Not granted in NCAA -- put the ball back in play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I say the us switch to FIBA rules so you can't take a time out during play
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by crazy voyager
I say the us switch to FIBA rules so you can't take a time out during play
This really isn't such a bad idea, although I'd also be fine if they just changed the rule so the TO could only be requested by a player on the court.

Anything that keeps the coach from requesting a TO is a good thing, IMO.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2006, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally posted by GFS-1
Team A is dribbling the ball down court.
Team B Head Coach calls for a Time Out. The Time Out is called
Then Team A Head Coach yells "They don't have possession"
Should Team B been granted the Time Out.
Team B should not have been granted the TO will Team was dribbling, however, after the offical blew his whistle to stop play the NFHS says Team B can have the TO as follows:

5.8.3 Situation E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? Ruling: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.

In my opinion...this is nuts! NFHS should change this. The official makes an error by granting a TO when he should not have and it benefits one team over another.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1