The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 44
I was always taught that this wasn't a traveling call but a double dribble. If both hands are on the ball when it touches the ground what is the difference between bouncing it with both hands and this situation?? Just asking. In our girls league the refs call this all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,581
A dribble can be started by two hands but the dribble will end if the ball touches both hands simultaneously according to 4-15-4c.

It sounds like the officials got the call right if what you described is correct (or what actually happen on). It would not be a travel, but it would be a double dribble.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by 81artmonk
I was always taught that this wasn't a traveling call but a double dribble. If both hands are on the ball when it touches the ground what is the difference between bouncing it with both hands and this situation?? Just asking. In our girls league the refs call this all the time.
If you're asking is it a violation to touch the ball to the floor while holding it with both hands, no, it is not.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,188
Quote:
If both hands are on the ball when it touches the ground what is the difference between bouncing it with both hands and this situation??
The difference is bouncing it with both hands is a dribble and the touching the ground with the ball while both hands are on it is not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Texas Aggie
Quote:
If both hands are on the ball when it touches the ground what is the difference between bouncing it with both hands and this situation??
The difference is bouncing it with both hands is a dribble and the touching the ground with the ball while both hands are on it is not.
.... but if the refs in your league are calling it, then don't do it. All the best players adjust to the refs they are working with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1