The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 02:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
As I was reading some of these posts, I thought of a situation that I haven't run into yet but probably will and not sure if I would administer correctly.

Here is the situation: B1 Team Fouls 5. Personal foul on A1 by B1 proceeded by technical foul by a) B1 b)Coach of B1 or c) B2. In any of those cases would you have a bonus free throw situation before the technical?

I'm thinking if they are administered in the order they occurred, there wouldn't be, but I've been wrong once before.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Greg, I believe that I understand your question and that you are also correct about the ruling.

However, your terminology is confusing, as evidenced by Teigan's strange response, so allow me to clarify.

At a certain point in one half of the game Team B has committed 5 team fouls.
Now B1 fouls A1. A1 was NOT in the act of shooting when fouled. This is Team B's sixth foul of the half. No bonus FTs are merited.

The coach, B1 himself, or teammate B2 objects to the foul call and is charged with a technical foul. This is Team B's seventh team foul of the half. 2FTs are awarded as the penalty for this technical foul and Team A is also awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table.


I believe that is the situation you are asking about. In short, since the fouls are penalized in the order in which they occur in NFHS play, there is no bonus for the personal foul committed by B1. FTs are only awarded for the technical foul.

Now if Team B had previously committed six team fouls and then this situation happens, you would award a 1-1 followed by 2FTs for the T, and then the ball at the division line.

If that is what you were after, then as I said before, you have the correct understanding.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref

However, your terminology is confusing, as evidenced by Teigan's strange response, so allow me to clarify.

Well, well, well... he deleted that post too. As someone else on here has been saying lately, "It's an epidemic."

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
I actually had a similar situation on Sunday.

B1 fouls A1 as A1 begins to drive the lane (9th team foul). After a few steps B1 then pushes A1 from behind so I call an "intentional technical" on B1 (his 5th, team's 10th). A1 is hurt on the play and has to leave the game. We bring a player off the bench to shoot 1 and 1. Another player then shoots two and A gets the ball OOB. My question is where do they get the ball?

By the way this all happened with less than a minute to go in the game and team B was up by three.

The sub misses the front end of the 1 and 1, and the other player hits both of his FT's, so now we have a one point game. We give the ball to team A under their basket (at the spot of the second foul), since it was an intentional (I still don't know if this was correct). Anyway on the inbound play, A5 gets the ball and proceeds to make a break for the wrong basket! Over and back violation, team B gets the ball and sinks a three and winds up winning by 4! Unbelievable!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
You did everything right except that the throw-in should have been from the division line opposite the table because the second foul was a technical foul for intentional dead ball contact.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:09am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by stosh
I actually had a similar situation on Sunday.

B1 fouls A1 as A1 begins to drive the lane (9th team foul). After a few steps B1 then pushes A1 from behind so I call an "intentional technical" on B1 (his 5th, team's 10th). A1 is hurt on the play and has to leave the game. We bring a player off the bench to shoot 1 and 1. Another player then shoots two and A gets the ball OOB. My question is where do they get the ball?

If this was under NFHS rules, all technical fouls have their throw-ins at center. I believe that an intentional technical foul under NCAA rules does also, instead of the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
by 1 minute!!! Nay, nay....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Thanks for the answer. I'm just thinking that if we did it that way, the kid may not have made a run at the worng basket, so instead of helping team A we may have actually helped to confuse them. BTW these were 15 year old boys, so they should have had a better sense of the game situation.

Also coach B asked "How could you call two fouls on the same player?" My answer: "Simple, he committed two fouls" he couldn't disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
by 1 minute!!! Nay, nay....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1