Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
The flaw is that you are failing to put any emphasis on the fact that the DEFENDER is prohibited by rule from breaking the boundary plane on a throw-in, that in and of itself is illegal, while it is perfectly legal for the THROWER to cross the plane.
|
Above, you have stated two elements, neither of which is what this thread is about. Perhaps you just made a typo? (That's what I think...) (
Element 1,
Element 2)
Yes, it is legal for the thrower-in to cross the plane. Yes, it illegal for the defender to cross the plane.
It might NOT be legal (that's why we are having this thread

) for him to cross the plane
and cause contact with B, especially when designed to nuetralize an opponent's skilled (and legal) defensive movements.
This thread is about A-initiated contact. It seems like you're now telling us that this is legal. If that is so, then why did you previously say otherwise:
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Personal foul on A1. Shoot the bonus if necessary.
|
Are you now changing your mind about the penalty? Hey, I don't mind if that's what you're doing, I just want to know.
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
That is why I think that the reasoning put forth above is flawed. The reverse shouldn't be true because one player is allowed to break the plane according to the rules.
|
Yup. He is allowed to break the plane. So let him break the plane. Don't let him break the plane AND foul someone!