The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 03:03am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Could someone please explain rule 4-3-2 in the NFHS rules book to me. Rule 4 Section 3 is titled SETTING DIRECTION OF INITIAL ARROW. ART 2 in section 3 states "The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect." How can you have the bonus free throw in effect and still not have the initial arrow set. All I can think of is if there are a lot of Techs given before the toss, but these are not common fouls. Must be a horrible start to a game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 03:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,798
Think OVERTIME!!!!!!!!!!

This rule may come into play at the start of the extra periods, which do start with another jump ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 03:15am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Got ya. I had a fellow official ask me how that could happen and totally spaced out OT. Thanks Nevada now I have an answer for him.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Maeder
Could someone please explain rule 4-3-2 in the NFHS rules book to me. Rule 4 Section 3 is titled SETTING DIRECTION OF INITIAL ARROW. ART 2 in section 3 states "The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect." How can you have the bonus free throw in effect and still not have the initial arrow set. All I can think of is if there are a lot of Techs given before the toss, but these are not common fouls. Must be a horrible start to a game.
While Ts are not common fouls, you could (theoretically) have 6 (or more) Ts before the game, and then a common foul duirng the jump ball (or immediately after) before the arrow was set.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
While Ts are not common fouls, you could (theoretically) have 6 (or more) Ts before the game, and then a common foul duirng the jump ball (or immediately after) before the arrow was set.
But only in a college game. . .

5 illegal jerseys, and a T on the coach when you explain that you're starting with 10 FT's
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,095
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
While Ts are not common fouls, you could (theoretically) have 6 (or more) Ts before the game, and then a common foul duirng the jump ball (or immediately after) before the arrow was set.
But only in a college game. . .

5 illegal jerseys, and a T on the coach when you explain that you're starting with 10 FT's
It could also happen in a HS game if the last of the T's was a simultaneous or double T. You could also have several double fouls during the jump before either team gains possession.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
It could also happen in a HS game if the last of the T's was a simultaneous or double T.
But only if all the fouls were simultaneous or double. If you had a single T at any point in that sequence, the POI for the subsequent double foul would be the shooting of the single T and then possession.

Quote:
You could also have several double fouls during the jump before either team gains possession.
This is true, I guess. I never would've thought of it, but I suppose it is possible theoretically.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
It could also happen in a HS game if the last of the T's was a simultaneous or double T.
But only if all the fouls were simultaneous or double. If you had a single T at any point in that sequence, the POI for the subsequent double foul would be the shooting of the single T and then possession.

Quote:
You could also have several double fouls during the jump before either team gains possession.
This is true, I guess. I never would've thought of it, but I suppose it is possible theoretically.
And, realistically, if this were to happen in a real game, "Which direction to point the arrow" would be far down the list of things to worry about.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1