The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Here is a question and answer that appears on the TASO (Texas) website:


Q: A1 is dribbling towards the basket and shoots the ball. After making the basket, A1 comes down on both feet and pushes B1. Is this a dead ball foul?

A: If the ball has cleared the net, then you have a dead ball situation.


That answer is correct but maybe a little too brief.

4-19-1 (note) - "Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter."

This "dead ball foul" is ignored unless intentional or flagrant, correct?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,963
Sounds CORRECT to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to stewcall
Quote:
Originally posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Here is a question and answer that appears on the TASO (Texas) website:


Q: A1 is dribbling towards the basket and shoots the ball. After making the basket, A1 comes down on both feet and pushes B1. Is this a dead ball foul?

A: If the ball has cleared the net, then you have a dead ball situation.


That answer is correct but maybe a little too brief.

4-19-1 (note) - "Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter."

This "dead ball foul" is ignored unless intentional or flagrant, correct?

4-19
A technical foul
An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead except a foul by an airborne shooter
So ignore the foul unless you are going to charge a Technical foul
Stew in VA
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 03:29pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,846
Also by rule you have a technical foul if you decide to call a foul when the ball is considered dead.

My suggestion, make it be there.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1