The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 26, 2001, 01:46pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation Here's a corollary

Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Roden
In the case I saw, it was not a shot attempt. So let's take that out of the equation. It was his own backboard.
Since it was not a shot attempt, there is no loss of team control. If the ball caromed into the backcourt where it was touched by a member of team A, you would have an over and back call. Try explaining that one!

As to the first point, if he had already dribbled, picked up his dribble, then threw the ball off his own backboard, caught it and dribbled again, certainly you would have an illegal (double) dribble, since there was nothing in the act of throwing it off the backboard that would allow him to dribble again. To me, this would be the same as if he threw the ball out in front of him, then grabbed it, then started dribbling again.

[Edited by Mark Padgett on May 26th, 2001 at 01:49 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1