The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 21, 2005, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member

I am a HS JV coach/Varsity assistant coach and also a referee. I have coached for the last three years and I have reffed for the last 8.

I am constantly faced with getting myself in trouble in games I coach by protesting with officials who don't know the rules. I make it a point to NEVER argue a judgment call (Travel, foul, non-call) because I know how difficult it can be. I am also especially conscious to take it easy on JV officials, but I am also frustrated by VARSITY officials who don't know the rules.

Last night we had a situation where a player from the other team is instructed to change jerseys because his is saturated with blood. The player took off his jersey at his team bench which should have been called a T. I informed our Head Coach and he asked the officials who told him that this was a "special circumstance" which of course it is not (3-4-15).

As an assistant I know I shouldn't say anything, but something should be said by Head Coach...my question is how would you want to be approached by a coach with a possible rule issue?
Old Wed Dec 21, 2005, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member

You may want to give the ol' rulebook a little review yourself. The rule you cite references rule 10-3-7h and 10-3-1h which are descriptions of UNSPORTING FOULS. My interpretation of the situation you describe is that the jersey was not removed in an unsporting manner, it was removed for the reasons described in 3-3-6 which clearly states that this situation can be corrected by the end of a requested time-out. I would think that one avenue of correction would be to remove and replace the jersey. I do not believe that the spirit of the rule is to apply it to the situation you describe in the way you describe.

Just my opinion.
Old Wed Dec 21, 2005, 02:10pm