View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 12:41am
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally posted by biz
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy


Crew should have T'd. if they did not, it is their call. It's the "give an inch and they take a mile".

You said you don't challenge "judgement calls" but in effect you are in the reverse.

The technical should have been called but IMHO it is an Administrative Technical that had little to do with the outcome of the game. Report it and let it go.

I disagree Ref Daddy, it is not the crew's "call" an official's job is to enforce the rules of the game. The rule explicitly says that this sitch is a T. Therefore it is the referee crew's job is to apply the rule. I'm glad though that you would, in this case, give the T.

I did not want to get into the impact on the game because I think that it's irrelevant to the post, but since you brought it up...The fact that they didn't call the T certainly did NOT cost us the game alone but, the two shots and the ensuing posession COULD have cut a 6 point deficit to 1 with 1:46 remaining in the game.

I do agree with your parting shot though. I think it needs to be reported and I definitely need to drop it after that.
While the rule is pretty clear, I have to admit that I find it distateful that you would be LOOKING for such a technical foul to be called. Not sure why, though.
Reply With Quote