![]() |
|
|||
I'm new to the forum so please bare with me. I've been officiating for ten years (off and on) but more recently a coach. This situation happen about 3 or 4 years ago while I was the assistant coach of a boys JV team. I thought I knew the rule but didn't and was shocked when I found out what the rule was. Before you check your case book or talk to another official, post YOUR response.
The game is being officiated by a 2 man crew. Both officials have less than 5 years experience. In the 3rd quarter of the game, team "B" went on a 10 - 2 run to tie the game. Team "A" head coach calls timeout near the division line while team "A" has the ball. Both teams return from the timeout onto the floor. The official administers the ball near the division line. As soon as the ball has been inbounded, team "A" coach realizes he's missing his 5th player. He then yells at the player to go to the table to check in. Upon seeing this, the lead official realizes that team "A" only has 4 players on the floor and blows his whistle. What is the correct call at this point? I thought I knew the answer to this situation until the official had shown me in the rule book the correct call. This should be in the case book. Either way, I will post the answer in a few days. Just curious to know what most other officials would do in this situation.
__________________
"I might not always be right, but I'm never wrong." |
Bookmarks |
|
|