View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2005, 01:20am
SMEngmann SMEngmann is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
NF Rule 10-1-9.
NF Case 10-1-9.

The technical is not because of the advantage gained by B5 entering late AND catching a pass for an easy layup but simply because B5 entered late period and this is when the officials noticed her late entry.

If an official does not see B5 return late then no technical can be assessed.

Additionally, There was no reason for B5 to have to go to the table or to be beckoned on by an official. B5 was already a PLAYEr, not a sub, so therefore was required by rule to return at the same time B1-B4 returned. Failure to do so is Team T.

Also, in the case it would have still been a T for delaying return following time-out even if A had rebounded their own shot or even if A still had the ball in their possession setting up a play.

BTW as I said, this is a Team technical not a player T on B5.

[Edited by Daryl H. Long on Dec 15th, 2005 at 01:08 AM]
But all the players DID return at approximately the same time as only 4 players participated. A 5th player never actually "returned" to the floor, but checked in. I agree with Rainmaker, no call and beckon the player at the next dead ball. A technical here makes absolutely no sense.
Reply With Quote