View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2005, 05:18am
Daryl H. Long Daryl H. Long is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long

All I care is the team must have 5 players within the lines and 5 must return at the same time following a timeout. Any more or less than 5 results in an immediate Team T.

That means B5 is somewhere outside the lines while the rest of his teammates are within the lines. I don't care whether he was at the scorer's table or why he went there, or still sitting on the bench the T still is given.
I disagree completely. It's not a "T" until the player actually comes on the court. And then, it's a player "T", not a team "T". See case book play 10.3.3SitB- "RULING: A technical foul is charged to A5 for returning during playing action even though A5 had not been replaced.

Also see from a coupla days ago:
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/23609
The key to identify whether to apply 10-3-3 or 10-1-9 is to ascertain whether the foul was committed by a PLAYER or by a TEAM.

While I agree with the ruling given in case 10.3.3 Sit B as you state above is absolutely correct, it would be erroneous on my part to apply it to the situation as Xavier writes to start this thread. This thread is about a TEAM delaying his return to the court FOLLOWING A TIMEOUT.

The appropriate rule which addresses this very act and its penalty is rule 10-1-9. The last line of the ruling in the casebook states '..once a team responds, ALL players must enter the court at approximately the same time." No need to wait for player to enter before assessing this foul as this is not a player technical but a team technical.

In all other cases in which a charged time-out is not involved then the apropriate rule to apply is 10-3-3 which is a player technical.
Reply With Quote