The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2005, 01:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
NF Rule 10-1-9.
NF Case 10-1-9.

The technical is not because of the advantage gained by B5 entering late AND catching a pass for an easy layup but simply because B5 entered late period and this is when the officials noticed her late entry.

If an official does not see B5 return late then no technical can be assessed.

Additionally, There was no reason for B5 to have to go to the table or to be beckoned on by an official. B5 was already a PLAYER, not a sub, so therefore was required by rule to return at the same time B1-B4 returned. Failure to do so is Team T.

The only reason Team B may be off the court legally delaying their return while Team A is in team control of a live ball with clock running is due to the resuming play procedure. The key to assessing the T has nothing to do with having a no-call and waiting until next dead ball. It hinges on the fact that once B1 enters the court all 4 remaining teammates are required to return immediatiely also.

Also, in the case it would have still been a T for delaying return following time-out even if A had rebounded their own shot or even if A still had the ball in their possession setting up a play.

BTW as I said, this is a Team technical not a player T on B5.

[Edited by Daryl H. Long on Dec 15th, 2005 at 01:18 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1