The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 515
I don't have the NCAA mechanics books so I can't look this up.

When do the officals blow there whistles in the front court before a throw-in? NCAA Men's & Women's.

Does the trail chop the clock in the frontcourt?

I've heard different things from different people and I want to know the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
I don't have the NCAA mechanics books so I can't look this up.

When do the officals blow there whistles in the front court before a throw-in? NCAA Men's & Women's.

Does the trail chop the clock in the frontcourt?

I've heard different things from different people and I want to know the rule.
In NCAA-W, the L blows the whistle before all front court throw-ins along the baseline, and chops in time. The T mirrors the chop. Otherwise, the mechanics are similar to Fed.

I will allow my other esteemed collegues to give the mechanics for NCAA-M.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
In the SEC, the T does mirror L on chopping the clock. Dont know about other conferences. In FED, I been doing this when the ball is in the front court opposite the table on the inline.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 01:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,182
Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
I don't have the NCAA mechanics books so I can't look this up.

When do the officals blow there whistles in the front court before a throw-in? NCAA Men's & Women's.
In Men's mechanics I do not recall that anything specific is said about this other than if there is a long delay to blow the whistle. I also do not have the books in front of me, so I am trying to remember what is in the book. I do know that I have been taught to blow the whistle at certain times at camp.

Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
Does the trail chop the clock in the frontcourt?
No, not in Men's mechanics. Even thought it is used by certain officials. But it is not the approved mechanic.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
I don't have the NCAA mechanics books so I can't look this up.

When do the officals blow there whistles in the front court before a throw-in? NCAA Men's & Women's.
In Men's mechanics I do not recall that anything specific is said about this other than if there is a long delay to blow the whistle. I also do not have the books in front of me, so I am trying to remember what is in the book. I do know that I have been taught to blow the whistle at certain times at camp.

Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
Does the trail chop the clock in the frontcourt?
No, not in Men's mechanics. Even thought it is used by certain officials. But it is not the approved mechanic.

Peace
It is an approved ncaam mechanic this year.

If the L is handling the throw-in on the sideline below the FT line the T will count and chop. L does not count or chop.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 02:13pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,182
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref


It is an approved ncaam mechanic this year.

If the L is handling the throw-in on the sideline below the FT line the T will count and chop. L does not count or chop.
That is not the same situations. That only applies to if the ball is below the FT line extended and the Lead is supposed to bounce the ball on the sideline and the Trail is supposed to give the count and shot in the time. That is completely different from what NCAA Women's Mechanics do. The Trail chops in the clock if the ball is on the sideline or the endline. Not the same thing. This is the only time (if you want to really compare) when the Trail would chop in the clock during Men's games. This is a very narrow senario. In the conference I work, we were told not to use this mechanic. The assignor wants us to either bring the ball above FT line extended or to just have the Trail administer the throw in.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
...and the Trail is supposed to give the count and chop in the time.

Peace
Actually, if you look right under the picture on page 20 (I think!) of the manual where it discusses this new mechanic, it says the L is actually supposed to count. One of my assignors hates this mechanic and has told us not to use it--T administers, counts, & chops. Another assignor leaves it up to us. We do what each assignor wants. When working for the one that does not care, we have generally allowed the L to administer and T has the count & the chop.
__________________
"Be 100% correct in your primary area!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
During a frontcourt throw in FT line extended. Does the T chops the time even if the throw-in comes from the endline?



__________________
Making the right call "Always"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 185
Send a message via MSN to BOBBYMO Send a message via Yahoo to BOBBYMO
During a frontcourt throw in FT line extended. Does the T chops the time even if the throw-in comes from the endline?


In NCAAW everytime the L administers a throw in and the ball is staying in the front court..... The T will chop in time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1