The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-In Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23549-throw-violation.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 09, 2005 09:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
This is where those other provisions of the throw-in all written for designated-spot throw-ins but which still apply unless overridden by something in 7-5-7 come in, specifically the note following 9-2-11.

[/B][/QUOTE]And where may I read that those provisions written for designated spot-throw-ins also apply to endline non-spot throw-ins? I can't seem to find that anywhere in <b>my</b> rule book. :D

FrankHtown Fri Dec 09, 2005 09:48am

I think you can fit 123,687 angels on the head of a pin.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 09, 2005 09:54am

Re: outside is not inside
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
That depends upon how you interpret the following parts of 7-5-7:

"and from any point outside the end line"

"a teammate(s) outside the boundary line"


To me the presence of the word "outside" in the rule means this way of making a throw-in is illegal even during a non-designated-spot end line throw-in.




It also depends on how you interpret 4-35-3 "The location of an airborne player ... is the same as at the time the player was last in contact with the floor ..."


Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 09, 2005 09:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
I think you can fit 123,687 angels on the head of a pin.
Define "head"?

Do the angels have to be totally inside the plane of the head? Or can parts of them be outside? Does it matter which parts?

Of course you're right, but I'm keeping this up until Nevada's head explodes. :D

ChuckElias Fri Dec 09, 2005 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Do the angels have to be totally inside the plane of the head? Or can parts of them be outside?
They have to be completely within the cone of headicality.

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 09, 2005 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Do the angels have to be totally inside the plane of the head? Or can parts of them be outside?
They have to be completely within the cone of headicality.

Headicality?

Somehow, that sounds dirty to me.....

Not bad, just dirty.....

Nevadaref Sat Dec 10, 2005 09:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
This is where those other provisions of the throw-in all written for designated-spot throw-ins but which still apply unless overridden by something in 7-5-7 come in, specifically the note following 9-2-11.

[/B]
And where may I read that those provisions written for designated spot-throw-ins also apply to endline non-spot throw-ins? I can't seem to find that anywhere in <b>my</b> rule book. :D [/B][/QUOTE]

You can't. However, if any of the provisions of 9-2 are broken by the throwing team during an end line throw-in do you call a violation? Then you obviously know that they still apply.


Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 10, 2005 09:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
This is where those other provisions of the throw-in all written for designated-spot throw-ins but which still apply unless overridden by something in 7-5-7 come in, specifically the note following 9-2-11.

And where may I read that those provisions written for designated spot-throw-ins also apply to endline non-spot throw-ins? I can't seem to find that anywhere in <b>my</b> rule book. :D [/B]
You can't. However, if any of the provisions of 9-2 are broken by the throwing team during an end line throw-in do you call a violation? <font color = red>Then you obviously know that they still apply</font>.

[/B][/QUOTE]Apply to what? Under exactly what provision listed under R9-2 is the thrower committing a violation? Exactly what article of 9-2 is being violated by the thrower?

I just can't seem to find one in <b>my</b> R9-2.

The thrower can't be committing a violation under R9-2-1. That article <b>very</b> specifically sez that it applies <b>only</b> to designated spot throw-ins. So.....what other article in R9-2 is being violated, Nevada?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 10th, 2005 at 09:44 AM]

Nevadaref Sat Dec 10, 2005 09:53am

I was about to say that the language in 7-5-7, any point outside the end line, is simply substituted for designated- spot in 9-2-1, but then I realized that this can't be true because the "thrower" may put the ball on the floor OOB or pass it to an OOB teammate and then leave the end line prior to the release of the throw-in pass when the throw-in is an end line throw-in.

Hmmm... all I can say is that 7-5-7 seems to be infinged here, but maybe not. Perhaps we should consider this jumping thrower to still be making the throw-in from a point outside the end line since that is where he jumped from.

Also, there is no penalty provided for violating 7-5-7.

If really pressed, the only rule I could point to in this case to defend calling a violation is 9-2-5. Carry the ball onto the court.

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

If really pressed, the only rule I could point to in this case to defend calling a violation is 9-2-5. Carry the ball onto the court.

OK, I'm pressing you.

How can the thrower carry the ball onto the court if no part of the thrower <b>ever</b> touches the court in-bounds? And the NOTE after 9-2-11 sez the thrower may break the plane as long as they don't <b>touch</b> the inbounds area before the throw-in is released?

Nevadaref Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

If really pressed, the only rule I could point to in this case to defend calling a violation is 9-2-5. Carry the ball onto the court.

OK, I'm pressing you.

How can the thrower carry the ball onto the court if no part of the thrower <b>ever</b> touches the court in-bounds? And the NOTE after 9-2-11 sez the thrower may break the plane as long as they don't <b>touch</b> the inbounds area before the throw-in is released?

BOOM!!! That was my head exploding. :D

I don't know, JR. The more we go through this the more I am ready to rule that the jump throw-in is legal when the end line running privilege is in effect.


Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

If really pressed, the only rule I could point to in this case to defend calling a violation is 9-2-5. Carry the ball onto the court.

OK, I'm pressing you.

How can the thrower carry the ball onto the court if no part of the thrower <b>ever</b> touches the court in-bounds? And the NOTE after 9-2-11 sez the thrower may break the plane as long as they don't <b>touch</b> the inbounds area before the throw-in is released?

BOOM!!! That was my head exploding. :D

I don't know, JR. The more we go through this the more I am ready to rule that the jump throw-in is legal when the end line running privilege is in effect.


Have a good day, Nevada. Gotta take the dogs for a walk- in the damn snow.

And I don't wanna hear that it's 80 in Nevada either.

All_Heart Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:27am

During an endline throw-in, if the ball is thrown onto the court but nobody touches it and it goes out of bounds on the sideline, where does the next throw-in take place?

Nevadaref Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by All_Heart
During an endline throw-in, if the ball is thrown onto the court but nobody touches it and it goes out of bounds on the sideline, where does the next throw-in take place?
From the spot of the original throw-in along the end line.

All_Heart Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:57am

Is this at the spot of where the player threw it from? If the player runs to the corner and then throws it out of bounds, is the spot in the corner or where every you choose on the endline?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1