The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Hypothetical situation, but it happens often enough: Rebounding action; B5 twists his ankle and falls to the ground. A5 secures the rebound and outlets to A1 who dribbles quickly toward the frontcourt. We now have a 5-on-4 situation.

If B5 is seriously hurt, we can stop the play immediately. But if he doesn't seem seriously hurt, when do we stop the play?

In HS, we stop the play when Team A moves away from the basket, or as soon as team control is lost (including a try for goal).

But in NCAA, it says to stop play when Team A "whithholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position". (10-9-8a)

I'm pretty sure that means that if A1 shoots and misses, but A5 is in position to tip the ball back up, we allow the following action (tip/rebound). I thought there was an AR that explained that point, but it's not in the book, and not in any book back to '02-'03.

Was this issued in a bulletin at some point? If so, does anybody have the text or a link?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1