The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Watching the Celtics v Sonics last night. Sonics player A1 throws and alley oop pass to A2. Before A2 touches the ball but while in the air he is fouled by B1. He then slams the ball through the basket. After a brief discussion the basket was allowed and A2 was given 1 FT.

My question is under NFHS rules would this constitute continuous motion?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 07:47am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by David M
Watching the Celtics v Sonics last night. Sonics player A1 throws and alley oop pass to A2. Before A2 touches the ball but while in the air he is fouled by B1. He then slams the ball through the basket. After a brief discussion the basket was allowed and A2 was given 1 FT.

My question is under NFHS rules would this constitute continuous motion?
David M,
I don't see how Fed can have continous motion before the ball is touched.
mick



Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 08:40am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally posted by David M
Watching the Celtics v Sonics last night. Sonics player A1 throws and alley oop pass to A2. Before A2 touches the ball but while in the air he is fouled by B1. He then slams the ball through the basket. After a brief discussion the basket was allowed and A2 was given 1 FT.

My question is under NFHS rules would this constitute continuous motion?
6.7 Comment "However, in a tap for goal, the motion does not begin until the ball is touched."

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.

Agreed. My guess is that they missed the call.

4-XI
A field goal attempt is a player's attempt to shoot the ball into his basket for a field goal. The act of shooting starts when, in the official's judgment, the player has started his shooting motion and continues until the shooting motion ceases and he returns to a normal floor position. It is not essential that the ball leave the shooter's hand. His arm(s) might be held so that he cannot actually make an attempt. The term is also used to include the flight of the ball until it becomes dead or is touched by a player. A tap during a jump ball or rebound is not considered a field goal attempt. However, anytime a live ball is in flight from the playing court, the goal, if made, shall count, even if time expires or the official's whistle sounds. The field goal will not be scored if time on the game clock expires before the ball leaves the player's hand.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 11:14am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow Hmm.

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.
Agreed. My guess is that they missed the call.
Maybe the "shooter" was hit before and after he had the ball, and perhaps the announcer missed that little item.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 11:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Hmm.

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.
Agreed. My guess is that they missed the call.
Maybe the "shooter" was hit before and after he had the ball, and perhaps the announcer missed that little item.
mick
Don't you mean that perhaps David M. missed that little item?

The only way we can try to answer is per David's description.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Exclamation Re: Re: Hmm.

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.
Agreed. My guess is that they missed the call.
Maybe the "shooter" was hit before and after he had the ball, and perhaps the announcer missed that little item.
mick
Don't you mean that perhaps David M. missed that little item?

The only way we can try to answer is per David's description.
I was watching and listening. The whistle blew before the ball got to A2.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 11:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Next question ...

Quote:
Originally posted by David M
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.
Agreed. My guess is that they missed the call.
Maybe the "shooter" was hit before and after he had the ball, and perhaps the announcer missed that little item.
mick
Don't you mean that perhaps David M. missed that little item?

The only way we can try to answer is per David's description.
I was watching and listening. The whistle blew before the ball got to A2.
David M,
Why in the world would you watch the Sonics and the Celtics.
It seems thay are both *ics.
[Oh! I just realized the Pistons {an *on team) were off. ]
mick


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Re: Next question ...

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by David M
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Anybody know if the NBA actually has some kinda rule to cover this particular situation? It would be interesting to see the rationale behind calling someone in the "act of shooting" before they even received a pass.

Of course, the alternative is that they maybe just missed the call. That happens too.
Agreed. My guess is that they missed the call.
Maybe the "shooter" was hit before and after he had the ball, and perhaps the announcer missed that little item.
mick
Don't you mean that perhaps David M. missed that little item?

The only way we can try to answer is per David's description.
I was watching and listening. The whistle blew before the ball got to A2.
David M,
Why in the world would you watch the Sonics and the Celtics.
It seems thay are both *ics.
[Oh! I just realized the Pistons {an *on team) were off. ]
mick


I was watching the Celts (no ics) because Duke was completely blowing out Seton Hall.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Re: Next question ...

Quote:
Originally posted by David M
I was watching the Celts (no ics) because Duke was completely blowing out Seton Hall.
I tuned in to the Duke game when it was 41-11 and tuned out immediately. Although I heard on the radio this morning that Duke got a defensive rebound with less then a minute remaining in the first half, and took a TO to set up a play. Ugh! I think that's probably worse than giving your opponent an uncontested possession.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Hmm.

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
perhaps the announcer missed that little item.
If it was the Boston broadcast, you can bet that Heinsohn missed it. He's such a ref-basher, it's unbelievable.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,280
I have looked thru the NBA rule book and casebook and cannot find anything that would allow this by the strict definitions of the rule.

That being said--I wonder if they were protecting the receiver/dunker here and penalizing the defense.

I thought about this play and wonder what I would call in any game if the same play happened.

We know it is not continuous motion or continuation but do we want to allow the defense to foul an offensive player who is going for the ball in a vulnerable position like this to get fouled?

If you call the foul, the kid catches the ball mid air and dunks it, it a dead ball dunking....Would any one call this?

If they blew the rule, they will be fined. But I willbe curious to see if the league puts something out on aplay like this. We will have to wait and see.



Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: Re: Re: Next question ...

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Although I heard on the radio this morning that Duke got a defensive rebound with less then a minute remaining in the first half, and took a TO to set up a play. Ugh! I think that's probably worse than giving your opponent an uncontested possession.
In D1, the definition of sportsmanship is totally different, don't you think?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1