The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2005, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:
]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
1) Dashes are used for rules, periods are used for cases. So, of course there's no 4-15-2 in the case book, it's in the rules book.

2) 4.15.4F, the case to which you refer, includes a bat by the defense. That ends the dribble.

3) A bat by the offense (dribbler) does not end the dribble, *provided the ball is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands*

4) The emphasized part above didn't happen -- so it was a violation.

5) The official in the play was incorrect in ruling this a travelling violation -- it was a dribbling violation. See 4.15.4D(a)

6) As long as the official blew the whistle, who (other than the IAABO test masters) cares which of the violations he called?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1