The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Refresher Answer (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23037-refresher-answer.html)

assignmentmaker Fri Nov 18, 2005 06:35pm

Re: Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
1) Dashes are used for rules, periods are used for cases. So, of course there's no 4-15-2 in the case book, it's in the rules book.

2) 4.15.4F, the case to which you refer, includes a bat by the defense. That ends the dribble.

3) A bat by the offense (dribbler) does not end the dribble, *provided the ball is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands*

4) The emphasized part above didn't happen -- so it was a violation.

5) The official in the play was incorrect in ruling this a travelling violation -- it was a dribbling violation. See 4.15.4D(a)

6) As long as the official blew the whistle, who (other than the IAABO test masters) cares which of the violations he called?

A model answer. You are a saint.

assignmentmaker Fri Nov 18, 2005 06:43pm

the key . . . the tricky part
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

"A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble."

A1 is in the frontcourt, then, while dribbling (the logical truth of which is established after the ball contacts the backcourt) touches the backcourt. It's wired slightly backwards . . . but that's what happens when rules are created in isolation, not crosschecked for validity . . .

Vote for me. I will re-write the rules, maintaining their intent everywhere that intent can be established, and make them half as long and twice as clear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1