The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Refresher Answer (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23037-refresher-answer.html)

ref18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:17pm

Why don't we make this a group effort.

What answers do you disagree with and why?

1. N
2. N
3. Y
4. Y
5. Y
6. Y
7. Y
8. Y
9. N
10. Y
11. N
12. Y
13. N
14. Y
15. Y
16. Y
17. N
18. N
19. Y
20. N
21. N
22. N
23. Y
24. Y
25. Y
26. N
27. Y
28. N
29. Y
30. Y
31. Y
32. N
33. N
34. N
35. Y
36. N
37. Y
38. Y
39. Y
40. N
41. Y
42. N
43. N
44. Y
45. Y
46. Y
47. N
48. Y
49. N
50. Y
51. N
52. N
53. Y
54. Y
55. Y
56. N
57. Y
58. Y
59. Y
60. N
61. N
62. Y
63. N
64. N
65. Y
66. Y
67. N
68. Y
69. Y
70. Y
71. Y
72. N
73. N
74. Y
75. N
76. N
77. Y
78. Y
79. N
80. Y


Edited to change #63


[Edited by ref18 on Nov 4th, 2005 at 10:25 PM]

Dan_ref Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:23pm

I disagree with these:

N
Y
Y
Y
N
N
Y
N
Y
Y
Y
N

because I think they should be

Y
N
N
N
Y
Y
N
Y
N
N
N
Y

yankeesfan Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Why don't we make this a group effort.

What answers do you disagree with and why?

1. N
2. N
3. Y
4. Y
5. Y
6. Y
7. Y
8. Y
9. N
10. Y
11. N
12. Y
13. N
14. Y
15. Y
16. Y
17. N
18. N
19. Y
20. N
21. N
22. N
23. Y
24. Y
25. Y
26. N
27. Y
28. N
29. Y
30. Y
31. Y
32. N
33. N
34. N
35. Y
36. N
37. Y
38. Y
39. Y
40. N
41. Y
42. N
43. N
44. Y
45. Y
46. Y
47. N
48. Y
49. N
50. Y
51. N
52. N
53. Y
54. Y
55. Y
56. N
57. Y
58. Y
59. Y
60. N
61. N
62. Y
63. N
64. N
65. Y
66. Y
67. N
68. Y
69. Y
70. Y
71. Y
72. N
73. N
74. Y
75. N
76. N
77. Y
78. Y
79. N
80. Y


Edited to change #63


[Edited by ref18 on Nov 4th, 2005 at 10:25 PM]

what test are these answers to?

ChuckElias Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
what test are these answers to?
It's a test of the moderators' tolerance.

ref18 Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:25am

The IAABO refresher,

Only the first 80 questions though, I really could care less about the NC2A rules.

Jurassic Referee Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
what test are these answers to?
It's a test of the moderators' tolerance.

Gee, Chuck, you're a real live IAABO Board interpreter. You mean that you wouldn't post your test answers on the internet? :D

ref18 Sat Nov 05, 2005 02:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
what test are these answers to?
It's a test of the moderators' tolerance.

I never said they were correct, how do you know I didn't just post all the incorrect answers, just to screw the lazy pricks that snipe the answers without doing work??

That's the thing about the internet, you never know the validity of what's posted.

Jurassic Referee Sat Nov 05, 2005 07:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
[/B]
I never said they were correct, how do you know I didn't just post all the incorrect answers, just to screw <font color = red>the lazy pricks that snipe the answers without doing work</font>??

[/B][/QUOTE]Now that's hilarious. :D

jallen Sat Nov 05, 2005 02:27pm

where can I get a copy?
 
Hi
Where can I get a copy of the NCAA refresher exam?
Thanks
JA

RefLarry Sat Nov 05, 2005 02:40pm

I disagree with your #75. Team A scores and before the throw-in in complete by Team B,A-2 is charged with an intentional personal foul near the end line.Team B is not in the bonus. Official awards team B two free throws and rules team B's throw-in is now a designated spot throw-in. Is the official correct?

Case play 7.5.7 SITUATION D states if foul is intentional (or flagrant) on A near the end line.Two free throws(with the lane cleared).Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line.
It's a designated spot throw-in (at the spot closest to where the foul happened) because the foul that was committed was not a common foul
This was a rule change (well the committee said that it was an editorial change last season. Prior to that the team could run the end line.
Now we don't let them.
(Credit to prior post 23018 from ChuckElias ,mdray ,and Nevadaref.)





RefLarry Sat Nov 05, 2005 07:29pm

I disagree with your answer for #57. While the ball is in the air on a jump ball to start the game,A-2 intentionally fouls B-2. Official instructs the scorer to set the arrow toward team A's basket when the ball is at the dispoal of B-2 for the first free throw. Is the official correct?


Casebook play 6.4.1SitE(c): During the jump ball to start the game,after the ball is tossed A1 intentionally fouls B1. When is the possession arrow set?
RULING: The arrow is pointed in the direction of A's basket when a player of B has the ball or it is at the thrower's disposal for the throw-in following the free throws.
(Credit to :Jurassic Referee thread http://www.officialforum.com/thread/22658 )

I have other answers I disagree with and I am working on them.



RefLarry Sat Nov 05, 2005 07:41pm

I disagree with #15.A-1's pass to A-2 in the frontcourt is deflected by A-2 and hits the official who is standing on the division line.A-2 catches the ball in the frontcourt. Official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
Yes, the official is correct.

1) Team A had team control.
2) The ball had attained FC status.
3) Team A was last to touch the ball before it went into the BC.
4) Team A was first to touch the ball after it went into the BC.

4-4-4: "A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location."

Credit to those who posted on Thread:
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/22651




RefLarry Sat Nov 05, 2005 08:07pm

I disagree on #41. "Team B scores. A1's throw-in is batted back out of bounds over the end line. Official awards the ball back to team A and rules Team A still has the priviledge of running the end line. Is the official correct?

The questions does not say who batted the ball but lets assume B batted it out of bounds.

I say NO. 7.5.7 Situation B (c) Throw-in spots" B legally contacted the ball and subsequently hit it out of bounds,ending the throw-in. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in on the end line.

ref18 Sat Nov 05, 2005 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I disagree on #41. "Team B scores. A1's throw-in is batted back out of bounds over the end line. Official awards the ball back to team A and rules Team A still has the priviledge of running the end line. Is the official correct?

The questions does not say who batted the ball but lets assume B batted it out of bounds.

I say NO. 7.5.7 Situation B (c) Throw-in spots" B legally contacted the ball and subsequently hit it out of bounds,ending the throw-in. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in on the end line.

Any violation which would give the ball back to A with an endline throw in gives them the ability to run the endline.

I don't have a rule reference, but I know that's how it is. My books are somewhere where I'm not.

Camron Rust Sat Nov 05, 2005 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I disagree on #41. "Team B scores. A1's throw-in is batted back out of bounds over the end line. Official awards the ball back to team A and rules Team A still has the priviledge of running the end line. Is the official correct?

The questions does not say who batted the ball but lets assume B batted it out of bounds.

I say NO. 7.5.7 Situation B (c) Throw-in spots" B legally contacted the ball and subsequently hit it out of bounds,ending the throw-in. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in on the end line.

Any violation which would give the ball back to A with an endline throw in gives them the ability to run the endline.

I don't have a rule reference, but I know that's how it is. My books are somewhere where I'm not.

That is not correct. To be able to run the endline, the violation or foul must occur before the throwin ends.

Violations or fouls that occur after the throwin ends are always spot throwins (if there is to be a throwin at all).

Consider this case....A1 throws the ball in. A2 catches and then dribbles up to top of the key where B2 then knocks the ball away such that it goes OOB on the endline. What kind of throwin do we have? Designated spot. Now, move that incident back towards the endline. Any different becasue of the location? No...spot throwin. Now change it to B knocking it directly OOB off the throwin. Still no different. Why would this be any different than A touching/dribbling it first? It's not.

RefLarry Wed Nov 09, 2005 07:10pm

I disagree with #1. A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?

I say YES. Rule 9 Section 5.Illegal dribble,or is it 9-4 Travel?. Seems like a violation to me because the ball was batted by team A,then caught in the air after taking steps.If the opponent batted the ball it would be ok. Is "traveling" the correct call or is it another violation?Please point out the correct rule if you can.

assignmentmaker Wed Nov 09, 2005 07:24pm

Is 4-15.2 not the case?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I disagree with #1. A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?

I say YES. Rule 9 Section 5.Illegal dribble,or is it 9-4 Travel?. Seems like a violation to me because the ball was batted by team A,then caught in the air after taking steps.If the opponent batted the ball it would be ok. Is "traveling" the correct call or is it another violation?Please point out the correct rule if you can.

Is 4-15-2 not the case? " . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

assignmentmaker Wed Nov 09, 2005 07:27pm

And while we're at it, 4-15.2 not imply that
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I disagree with #1. A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?

I say YES. Rule 9 Section 5.Illegal dribble,or is it 9-4 Travel?. Seems like a violation to me because the ball was batted by team A,then caught in the air after taking steps.If the opponent batted the ball it would be ok. Is "traveling" the correct call or is it another violation?Please point out the correct rule if you can.

Is 4-15-2 not the case? " . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

And while we're at it, does 4-15.2 not imply that A1 could bat the ball, run to catch up to it to continue the dribble, have the ball strike his shoulder on the way down, and then pick it up or continue to dribble with it - an interrupted dribble?

RefLarry Wed Nov 09, 2005 08:37pm

Is 4-15.2 the case? I don't think it is because the ball did not touch the floor after the dribbler batted it in the air over B1's head.A1 caught the ball before it hit the floor.

ref18 Wed Nov 09, 2005 08:41pm

I think that implies an illegal dribble, not a travel.

WinterWillie Wed Nov 09, 2005 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?


The correct answer is NO. The bat ends the original dribble and the ball is caught before it hits the floor.

assignmentmaker Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:07am

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?


The correct answer is NO. The bat ends the original dribble and the ball is caught before it hits the floor.

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.

WinterWillie Thu Nov 10, 2005 08:02am

Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 10, 2005 09:09am

Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
1) Dashes are used for rules, periods are used for cases. So, of course there's no 4-15-2 in the case book, it's in the rules book.

2) 4.15.4F, the case to which you refer, includes a bat by the defense. That ends the dribble.

3) A bat by the offense (dribbler) does not end the dribble, *provided the ball is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands*

4) The emphasized part above didn't happen -- so it was a violation.

5) The official in the play was incorrect in ruling this a travelling violation -- it was a dribbling violation. See 4.15.4D(a)

6) As long as the official blew the whistle, who (other than the IAABO test masters) cares which of the violations he called?


RefLarry Wed Nov 16, 2005 08:36pm

I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

ref18 Wed Nov 16, 2005 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

The correct answer is yes, 9-9-1, 4-4-1

RefLarry Wed Nov 16, 2005 09:18pm

#33.While A1 is in the act of shooting the first free throw of a one and one,B1 steps into the lane.Official inadvertenly sounds the whistle.A1 continues the motion. The ball enters the basket.Official counts the free throw.Is the official correct?

I checked my index and defenitions for "inadvertent" whistle and could not find anything. I'll say YES,the free throw counts because A1 was in the act of shooting. Can someone please point me to a rule or case play to confirm or correct me? Thanks for the anticipated guidance.

ref18 Wed Nov 16, 2005 09:22pm

Larry, check you're e-mail.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 17, 2005 09:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

See rule 4-4-6 for when the ball enters the front court.

Quote:

#33.While A1 is in the act of shooting the first free throw of a one and one,B1 steps into the lane.Official inadvertenly sounds the whistle.A1 continues the motion. The ball enters the basket.Official counts the free throw.Is the official correct?

I checked my index and defenitions for "inadvertent" whistle and could not find anything. I'll say YES,the free throw counts because A1 was in the act of shooting. Can someone please point me to a rule or case play to confirm or correct me? Thanks for the anticipated guidance.
Check the rules on continuous motion (4-11) and Dead Ball (6-7)

assignmentmaker Fri Nov 18, 2005 06:33pm

Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
Not the Casebook, the Rules Book.

assignmentmaker Fri Nov 18, 2005 06:35pm

Re: Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
1) Dashes are used for rules, periods are used for cases. So, of course there's no 4-15-2 in the case book, it's in the rules book.

2) 4.15.4F, the case to which you refer, includes a bat by the defense. That ends the dribble.

3) A bat by the offense (dribbler) does not end the dribble, *provided the ball is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands*

4) The emphasized part above didn't happen -- so it was a violation.

5) The official in the play was incorrect in ruling this a travelling violation -- it was a dribbling violation. See 4.15.4D(a)

6) As long as the official blew the whistle, who (other than the IAABO test masters) cares which of the violations he called?

A model answer. You are a saint.

assignmentmaker Fri Nov 18, 2005 06:43pm

the key . . . the tricky part
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

"A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble."

A1 is in the frontcourt, then, while dribbling (the logical truth of which is established after the ball contacts the backcourt) touches the backcourt. It's wired slightly backwards . . . but that's what happens when rules are created in isolation, not crosschecked for validity . . .

Vote for me. I will re-write the rules, maintaining their intent everywhere that intent can be established, and make them half as long and twice as clear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1