The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Refresher Answer (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23037-refresher-answer.html)

RefLarry Wed Nov 09, 2005 07:10pm

I disagree with #1. A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?

I say YES. Rule 9 Section 5.Illegal dribble,or is it 9-4 Travel?. Seems like a violation to me because the ball was batted by team A,then caught in the air after taking steps.If the opponent batted the ball it would be ok. Is "traveling" the correct call or is it another violation?Please point out the correct rule if you can.

assignmentmaker Wed Nov 09, 2005 07:24pm

Is 4-15.2 not the case?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I disagree with #1. A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?

I say YES. Rule 9 Section 5.Illegal dribble,or is it 9-4 Travel?. Seems like a violation to me because the ball was batted by team A,then caught in the air after taking steps.If the opponent batted the ball it would be ok. Is "traveling" the correct call or is it another violation?Please point out the correct rule if you can.

Is 4-15-2 not the case? " . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

assignmentmaker Wed Nov 09, 2005 07:27pm

And while we're at it, 4-15.2 not imply that
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I disagree with #1. A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?

I say YES. Rule 9 Section 5.Illegal dribble,or is it 9-4 Travel?. Seems like a violation to me because the ball was batted by team A,then caught in the air after taking steps.If the opponent batted the ball it would be ok. Is "traveling" the correct call or is it another violation?Please point out the correct rule if you can.

Is 4-15-2 not the case? " . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

And while we're at it, does 4-15.2 not imply that A1 could bat the ball, run to catch up to it to continue the dribble, have the ball strike his shoulder on the way down, and then pick it up or continue to dribble with it - an interrupted dribble?

RefLarry Wed Nov 09, 2005 08:37pm

Is 4-15.2 the case? I don't think it is because the ball did not touch the floor after the dribbler batted it in the air over B1's head.A1 caught the ball before it hit the floor.

ref18 Wed Nov 09, 2005 08:41pm

I think that implies an illegal dribble, not a travel.

WinterWillie Wed Nov 09, 2005 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?


The correct answer is NO. The bat ends the original dribble and the ball is caught before it hits the floor.

assignmentmaker Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:07am

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
A1 while dribbling bats the ball over B1's head.A1 takes several steps and catches the ball before it hits the floor.Official rules this is a traveling violation.Is the official correct?


The correct answer is NO. The bat ends the original dribble and the ball is caught before it hits the floor.

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.

WinterWillie Thu Nov 10, 2005 08:02am

Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 10, 2005 09:09am

Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
1) Dashes are used for rules, periods are used for cases. So, of course there's no 4-15-2 in the case book, it's in the rules book.

2) 4.15.4F, the case to which you refer, includes a bat by the defense. That ends the dribble.

3) A bat by the offense (dribbler) does not end the dribble, *provided the ball is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands*

4) The emphasized part above didn't happen -- so it was a violation.

5) The official in the play was incorrect in ruling this a travelling violation -- it was a dribbling violation. See 4.15.4D(a)

6) As long as the official blew the whistle, who (other than the IAABO test masters) cares which of the violations he called?


RefLarry Wed Nov 16, 2005 08:36pm

I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

ref18 Wed Nov 16, 2005 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

The correct answer is yes, 9-9-1, 4-4-1

RefLarry Wed Nov 16, 2005 09:18pm

#33.While A1 is in the act of shooting the first free throw of a one and one,B1 steps into the lane.Official inadvertenly sounds the whistle.A1 continues the motion. The ball enters the basket.Official counts the free throw.Is the official correct?

I checked my index and defenitions for "inadvertent" whistle and could not find anything. I'll say YES,the free throw counts because A1 was in the act of shooting. Can someone please point me to a rule or case play to confirm or correct me? Thanks for the anticipated guidance.

ref18 Wed Nov 16, 2005 09:22pm

Larry, check you're e-mail.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 17, 2005 09:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.

See rule 4-4-6 for when the ball enters the front court.

Quote:

#33.While A1 is in the act of shooting the first free throw of a one and one,B1 steps into the lane.Official inadvertenly sounds the whistle.A1 continues the motion. The ball enters the basket.Official counts the free throw.Is the official correct?

I checked my index and defenitions for "inadvertent" whistle and could not find anything. I'll say YES,the free throw counts because A1 was in the act of shooting. Can someone please point me to a rule or case play to confirm or correct me? Thanks for the anticipated guidance.
Check the rules on continuous motion (4-11) and Dead Ball (6-7)

assignmentmaker Fri Nov 18, 2005 06:33pm

Re: Re: 4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

]

4-15-2 says that a 'bat' does not end the dribble.
4-15-4 SITUATION F says a bat ends the dribble. There is no 4-15-2 in the 2005-2006 NFHS Case Book.
Not the Casebook, the Rules Book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1