The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 20, 2005, 10:54pm
MPLAHE
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here are a few questions I missed - anyone help me clarify my mistakes

1) B-1 intentionally extentends his/her leg to block the pass. Ball hits A-1 in the inner thigh. Official rules this a kicking violation. Is the official correct? I answered no because I did not know what A-1's intent was since the question only referenced B-1. If the ball hit off A-1's inner thigh, who was perhaps just standing and did not intentionally attempt to kick the ball, why would this be a kicking violation? the correct answer was yes.

2) A-1's try is in flight when A-2 fouls B-2. Ball enters the basket. Team B is not in the bonus. Official rules team B may run the end line. Is the official correct? Since the ball was in flight, I felt the basket should count since the play was not dead until the try or tap ended and B should be able to run the endline per 7-5-7. the answer was no.

3) A-1 is fouled while tapping a rebound toward his/her basket. Ball enters basket. Official rules a tap is treated the same as a try, counts the basket and awards A-1 one free throw. Is the official correct? my answer was yes, since the foul did not cause the ball to become dead on a try or tap. the correct answer was no.






Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 20, 2005, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by MPLAHE
1) B-1 intentionally extentends his/her leg to block the pass. Ball hits A-1 in the inner thigh. Official rules this a kicking violation. Is the official correct? I answered no because I did not know what A-1's intent was since the question only referenced B-1. If the ball hit off A-1's inner thigh, who was perhaps just standing and did not intentionally attempt to kick the ball, why would this be a kicking violation? the correct answer was yes.
I think this must have been a typo of some kind.

I have no explanation for the others. I await enlightenment from someone wiser and more experienced than myself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 05:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,782
The answers to questions 2 and 3 are simply wrong.

Unless the foul by A2 in #2 is not a common foul or occurs in a location which would result in the throw-in being not along the end line, Team B may run.

For #3 6.7.7 confirms the official was correct.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
I took the TASO online test and got #1 right, because I assumed it was a typo. #3 I got wrong also, and still don't know why. I'm assuming another typo.

Unfortunately, in their tests, they don't do a real good job of writing the questions in plain english. I think they use some form of Texan.

I don't remember seeing #2 on my version of the test. I may have taken it before they changed it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by MPLAHE
1) B-1 intentionally extentends his/her leg to block the pass. Ball hits A-1 in the inner thigh. Official rules this a kicking violation. Is the official correct? I answered no because I did not know what A-1's intent was since the question only referenced B-1. If the ball hit off A-1's inner thigh, who was perhaps just standing and did not intentionally attempt to kick the ball, why would this be a kicking violation? the correct answer was yes.
I think this must have been a typo of some kind.

I have no explanation for the others. I await enlightenment from someone wiser and more experienced than myself.
Without question this is a typo. Some associations throw those type of questions out. When I was in KS, it never failed there were 3 or 4 questions thrown out every year. In CO, they don't throw them out... at least in my neck of the woods they don't.
__________________
[B]Things turn out best for those that make the best out of the way things turn out - John Wooden[B]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
I think they use some form of Texan.
"I tell you what." In Texas, that's a complete sentence.

Texan: I tell you what.
Non-Texan: Uh, what?
Texan: I just told you!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1