![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
presented it better than my long winded intuitive argument). Fed rules state (NCAA similar): 7-6-1 Throw-in Administration Art 1...The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower shall release the ball *on a pass* directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within 5 seconds after the throw-in starts... 7-5-7 describes the throw-in after a goal (ie players can run the line). 4-31 Pass A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player. 4-21 Fumble A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp. So, by rule, the call in the original play is incorrect since the ball was fumbled by the player throwing in. Under the rules you might argue that a 5 second violation is possible, but I'll still contend it's best to blow the whistle if B attempts to "steal" the fumble. |
Bookmarks |
|
|