The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Team A only loses the arrow if the throwin ends or if team A violates. The NFHS has established that a kick that is simultaneous with the ending of the throwin is considered to have occured before the throwin ends.
Camron -- where is this established? I'd like to think you're right, but I also would like to see it in print.

I can't specifically answer this question, but I did research the AP issue a little more thoroughly. I found the NCAA has clarified the AP throw-in ending and the 'regular' throw-in ending. Here's what the NCAA says...

"An alternating possession throw-in shall end when the throw-in touches or is legally touched by an in bounds player other than the thrower-in..." The legally touched portion is important. The kick violation would not be a legal touch, therefore, the AP throw-in has not ended and the arrow is not reversed.

"A throw-in shall end when the passed ball is controlled by an inbounds player." Controlled by an inbounds player...the kick violation is not control, so the throw-in has not ended.

With these definitions, I'd say the arrow is not switched on the kicking violation. No legal touch, no control.

Any other comments?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1