
Fri Sep 30, 2005, 12:53am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
|
|
Mick, one further note . . .
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
...a player, having his or her dribble, going up off of two feet, contacting the underside of the rim, and, without losing control of the ball, returning to the court.
The foregoing can be seen, again, I believe, as either a try, in which case the shotclock would be reset and return to the court would be legal, or not-a-try, in which case return to the court would be a travel. I am aware that - somewhere in the Rules Book or Casebook - it says that the ball may be prevented from release and a try still have taken place, but the 'preventor' is a player, not the rim . . .
|
assignmentmaker,
[4-41-4] The try ended when the try is certain to be unsuccessful. When the player landed the player has travelled by returning the pivot foot. (An opponent did not prevent the release [4.25.2].
The ball handler continued holding the ball and returned to the floor. [similar to 4.44.3 StiuationA(c) --> Ballhandler did it to self.]
So sure, reset the shot clock, but go the other way. 
mick
|
Re: getting stuffed by the rim, just to be mentally prepared, it's not unthinkable that a player could get stuffed by the bottom of the backboard - I think I've seen that, trying to come up from behind the plane of the backboard - and, in that case, no travel, but no shot clock reset, eh? Pray that the shot clock operator is on the case, or be very aware in this strange moment . . .
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
|