Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
...a player, having his or her dribble, going up off of two feet, contacting the underside of the rim, and, without losing control of the ball, returning to the court.
The foregoing can be seen, again, I believe, as either a try, in which case the shotclock would be reset and return to the court would be legal, or not-a-try, in which case return to the court would be a travel. I am aware that - somewhere in the Rules Book or Casebook - it says that the ball may be prevented from release and a try still have taken place, but the 'preventor' is a player, not the rim . . .
|
assignmentmaker,
[4-41-4] The try ended when the try is certain to be unsuccessful. When the player landed the player has travelled by returning the pivot foot. (An opponent did not prevent the release [4.25.2].
The ball handler continued holding the ball and returned to the floor. [similar to 4.44.3 StiuationA(c) --> Ballhandler did it to self.]
So sure, reset the shot clock, but go the other way. 
mick
|
Looks right to me, Mick. Meaning, under 4-41-3, the try begins with motion which habitually proceeds the release of the ball . . . I can't remember the details of the argument against this.
As for Third World Play, not really, in my experience. I've seen people stuffed by the rim - and, gulp, have arrived at the right conclusion by really just passing on it . . . saved by more-or-less common sense.