The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 11:29am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
...a player, having his or her dribble, going up off of two feet, contacting the underside of the rim, and, without losing control of the ball, returning to the court.

The foregoing can be seen, again, I believe, as either a try, in which case the shotclock would be reset and return to the court would be legal, or not-a-try, in which case return to the court would be a travel. I am aware that - somewhere in the Rules Book or Casebook - it says that the ball may be prevented from release and a try still have taken place, but the 'preventor' is a player, not the rim . . .
assignmentmaker,
[4-41-4] The try ended when the try is certain to be unsuccessful. When the player landed the player has travelled by returning the pivot foot. (An opponent did not prevent the release [4.25.2].
The ball handler continued holding the ball and returned to the floor. [similar to 4.44.3 StiuationA(c) --> Ballhandler did it to self.]

So sure, reset the shot clock, but go the other way.
mick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1