The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2005, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by afrothunda
So the above is saying the shot clock would start on contact of the ball by A2? We would not being our 10 second count until A2 has gained control or his team has control. (NCAA 9-10-Art. 1 says inbounds player (and team) shall not be in continous control of ball that is in back court for 10 consecutive seconds). Correct or not correct?
Correct.

Quote:
Let say it takes A2 five seconds to gain control of the ball. The shot clock would read 25 seconds.
Not in a men's game. . .

Quote:
Would your 10 second back court count could end with 15 seconds on the shot clock?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally posted by PS2
Separate the shot clock and the 10 second count. These things are not one in the same.

While they are not the same by rule, they are very often the same in practice. Usually, the player who receives the inbound pass establishes control immediately; either by catching the ball or starting a dribble. Therefore, in most backcourt throw-in situations, the 10 second count should expire when the shot clock shows 25 seconds (Men's) or 20 seconds (Women's).
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1