The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 08, 2005, 02:40am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker

When the ball goes up through the bottom of the net, it's a violation.
Naw, that ain't true at all. It's legal for a ball to go up through the bottom of the net as long as the ball doesn't pass completely through the basket while doing so. "Completely" is the key word; the whole ball has to go above the basket ring from below in order to have a violation. Rule 9-4 and case book play 9.4. The "basket" is defined in R1-10-1.

Of course, Nevada is gonna show up sometime and tell us about one certain play that will never occur- in my lifetime anyway---> if a ball gets tangled inside the net and the ball and net somehow then both go above the ring. Nevada will tell you that one isn't a violation according to a strict reading of the rule. Might happen too sometime...in an alternate universe. So.....be nice and humor him.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1