View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 08, 2005, 07:52am
Hartsy Hartsy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 277
Talking

(sarcasm font ON)

I can't think of any advantage gained by this, so I just won't whistle it. I'll just tell the players to be careful not to do it again. Like a lot of us do with the 3 second violation.

If the ball goes up through the ring, completely, then back down through the ring, I guess then I'd need to actually make the call.

(sarcasm font OFF)

I agree with BITS. I figure the rule was to prevent counting a score from someone shooting up through the ring and back through. If the ball doesn't go above the ring, no chance it can be counted as a score, so no violation.

I have seen balls tipped and hit the net or ring, but never through the ring. I treat it just as I do when a pass sails into the backboard, just let it go.

(I couldn't decide which reply I liked better)
Reply With Quote