The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2005, 07:52am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
#1) A1's try is in flight which the Trail official signals as a 3-pt try as the signal sounds indicating time has expired in the 4th qtr. Ball enters basket tying the score. Coach of team B confers with the officials that A1's try was a 2-pt try. Officials rule the coachis incorrect. Team B ahs used all of its 60-sec TO's but has one 30-sec TO remaining. Officials charge team B with an excessive TO and assess a technical foul. Is the official correct?
The key says yes, but I thought that you could use whatever TO you had left. And I can't find the rule citation for it. To make things worse, we don't use 30's in MA, so I never have to deal with this in real life. Anybody help me out?
My understanding was that you "use" the 30.

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
#2) A1 receives a pass while straddling the division line. A1 then fumbles the ball which touches the floor in the frontcourt. A1, instead of catching the ball, begins a dribble off the fumble and dribbles back into the backcourt. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?
I think this one is right off of Tony's backcourt quiz, but I can't remember if the touch to start the dribble makes the violation, or if you pass on the violation b/c it's now a dribble and all 3 points aren't across yet. Tony?
So A1:

  • is straddling the DL, holding the ball

  • current ball status: BC, because A1 is touching the BC

  • fumbles the ball

  • current ball status: remains BC, because the ball has not been in player control in the FC

  • starts a dribble right off the fumble

  • current ball status: the "3-points" (two feet, ball) come into play. Nowhere did it say that the foot in the BC left the BC. If A1 lifts that foot, then FC is established. Therefore, we're still in the BC.

    No violation.
    __________________
    Pope Francis
    Reply With Quote
     

    Bookmarks


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19pm.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1