The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rules Myths (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21788-rules-myths.html)

Mark Dexter Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

Methinks your IAABO board might be misunderstanding a few rules too.

You just never know how things are going to go over in Central Connecticut. :p

Welcome aboard, though, Billy. Soon-to-be Board 8 here.

Camron Rust Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BillyMac
MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

2) <font color = red>It is legal to hang on the rim if a player is fouled</font> or a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

10)<font color = red> Palming or carrying is when the hand is under the ball</font> or when ball rests in the hand.

13)<font color = red> The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction</font>, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court.

14) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. <font color = red>That player must reenter at approximately the same spot he or she went out</font>.

16) The hand is part of the ball at all times. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. <font color = red>Striking the ball handler or a shooter on that playerÂ’s hand, is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts</font>.

24) The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player to gain an advantage. <font color = red>Referees will not call this violation if the player is not gaining an advantage</font>.


(2) Say what? Where may I find that in the NFHS rule book or case book? I thought it was only legal if the fouled player did so to avoid injury-PERIOD. Just being fouled doesn't give any player license to hang on the rim, does it?

(10) Rules citation, please, to back up that statement.

(13) Can the inbounding player legally step in bounds through the plane then?

(14) Rules citation, please, to back that statement up.

(16) Rules citation, please, to back that statement up. I was always under the impression that it WAS a foul if the defender DELIBERATELY slapped a player's hand while it was on the ball.

(24) Rules citation,please, to back that statement up. That may be how it is taught, but I've never seen that language in a rule book.

Methinks your IAABO board might be misunderstanding a few rules too.

#2, #10, #16, #24...agree with you JR

#13...disagree...plane restriction...thrower may lean/reach through the plane. It's not talking about touching.

#14...(semantics)...if the player doesn't return inbound somewhere near where they went out, that implies they didn't immediately/directly return....they ran along the baseline/sideline when they could have returned.


Dan_ref Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

Methinks your IAABO board might be misunderstanding a few rules too.

You just never know how things are going to go over in Central Connecticut. :p

Welcome aboard, though, Billy. Soon-to-be Board 8 here.

Isn't central CT the part that isn't covered by casinos? ;)

Rizzo21 Thu Aug 18, 2005 01:08pm

#7
 
As a new official, I was wanting to ask someone about #7, a blocked shot that stayed in the shooters hand as he returned to the floor. I'm glad you cleared this up (jump ball!).

Mark Dexter Thu Aug 18, 2005 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Isn't central CT the part that isn't covered by casinos? ;)

Nope - that's Eastern CT, i.e. my neck of the woods.

Dan_ref Thu Aug 18, 2005 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Isn't central CT the part that isn't covered by casinos? ;)

Nope - that's Eastern CT, i.e. my neck of the woods.

Hmmm...let me break it down a bit:

Is central CT the part of CT that is not covered by casinos?

Check 1:

_Yes, central CT is not covered with casinos

_No, in fact central CT is just littered with the damn things like the rest of the state.

Jurassic Referee Thu Aug 18, 2005 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BillyMac
MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

13)<font color = red> The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction</font>, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court.

14) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. <font color = red>That player must reenter at approximately the same spot he or she went out</font>.



(13) Can the inbounding player legally step in bounds through the plane then?

(14) Rules citation, please, to back that statement up.


#13...disagree...plane restriction...thrower may lean/reach through the plane. It's not talking about touching.

#14...(semantics)...if the player doesn't return inbound somewhere near where they went out, that implies they didn't immediately/directly return....they ran along the baseline/sideline when they could have returned.


I see you point on #13, Camron. Re: #14-- If a player went OOB almost parallel to a line, then the rule just states that they then can't delay returning back in-bounds. If their momentum took them several yards along the line, they aren't required to re-trace their steps to approximately the same spot where they went OOB. They simply just come back in where they end up. If they hadda re-traced their steps, then they <b>woulda</b> been delaying their return in-bounds. That was my point. The statement "that player must re-enter at approximately the same spot he or she went out" is stating a requirement that isn't a part of the rule.

Mark Dexter Thu Aug 18, 2005 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Is central CT the part of CT that is not covered by casinos?

Check 1:

_X_ Yes, central CT is not covered with casinos

_No, in fact central CT is just littered with the damn things like the rest of the state.

And we don't need no education.

Only 2 casinos in Connecticut - both just a few miles from each other, and both within a 40 minute drive of me.

Camron Rust Thu Aug 18, 2005 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BillyMac
MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

13)<font color = red> The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction</font>, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court.

14) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. <font color = red>That player must reenter at approximately the same spot he or she went out</font>.



(13) Can the inbounding player legally step in bounds through the plane then?

(14) Rules citation, please, to back that statement up.


#13...disagree...plane restriction...thrower may lean/reach through the plane. It's not talking about touching.

#14...(semantics)...if the player doesn't return inbound somewhere near where they went out, that implies they didn't immediately/directly return....they ran along the baseline/sideline when they could have returned.


I see you point on #13, Camron. Re: #14-- If a player went OOB almost parallel to a line, then the rule just states that they then can't delay returning back in-bounds. If their momentum took them several yards along the line, they aren't required to re-trace their steps to approximately the same spot where they went OOB. They simply just come back in where they end up. If they hadda re-traced their steps, then they <b>woulda</b> been delaying their return in-bounds. That was my point. The statement "that player must re-enter at approximately the same spot he or she went out" is stating a requirement that isn't a part of the rule.

Agree...they don't have to retrace their steps. Howver, once they gain control of their motion, the need to head back in, not take another 5 steps parallel to the OOB line then turn back in. That's what I meant by "semantics": approximately/near is open to interpretation enough to account for that. Unless they have the speed of an olympic sprinter combined with the weight of a sumo wrestler, most anyone can come to a full stop, or at least turn back towards the court, in 2-4 yards.


Jurassic Referee Thu Aug 18, 2005 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BillyMac
MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

13)<font color = red> The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction</font>, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court.

14) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. <font color = red>That player must reenter at approximately the same spot he or she went out</font>.



(13) Can the inbounding player legally step in bounds through the plane then?

(14) Rules citation, please, to back that statement up.


#13...disagree...plane restriction...thrower may lean/reach through the plane. It's not talking about touching.

#14...(semantics)...if the player doesn't return inbound somewhere near where they went out, that implies they didn't immediately/directly return....they ran along the baseline/sideline when they could have returned.


I see you point on #13, Camron. Re: #14-- If a player went OOB almost parallel to a line, then the rule just states that they then can't delay returning back in-bounds. If their momentum took them several yards along the line, they aren't required to re-trace their steps to approximately the same spot where they went OOB. They simply just come back in where they end up. If they hadda re-traced their steps, then they <b>woulda</b> been delaying their return in-bounds. That was my point. The statement "that player must re-enter at approximately the same spot he or she went out" is stating a requirement that isn't a part of the rule.

Agree...they don't have to retrace their steps. Howver, once they gain control of their motion, the need to head back in, not take another 5 steps parallel to the OOB line then turn back in. That's what I meant by "semantics": approximately/near is open to interpretation enough to account for that. Unless they have the speed of an olympic sprinter combined with the weight of a sumo wrestler, most anyone can come to a full stop, or at least turn back towards the court, in 2-4 yards.


We agree on the application- fer sure. The problem with the semantics used though was that it could be interpreted different ways imo. That includes the wrong way. It would be much easier just to use the wording of the actual rule and just say something like "must immediately return in bounds" instead of trying to say they have to re-enter at any specific spot. That takes away any doubt about the original purpose and intent of the rule.

JRutledge Thu Aug 18, 2005 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee


(2) Say what? Where may I find that in the NFHS rule book or case book? I thought it was only legal if the fouled player did so to avoid injury-PERIOD. Just being fouled doesn't give any player license to hang on the rim, does it?

This might not apply to the NF, but NCAA Men's does not want a T called on a player that was fouled in the act of shooting while trying to dunk. This was on the NCAA Men's tape last year. I think that philosophy could be appropriately applied when working NF games without a specific interpretation.

Peace

Dan_ref Thu Aug 18, 2005 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee


(2) Say what? Where may I find that in the NFHS rule book or case book? I thought it was only legal if the fouled player did so to avoid injury-PERIOD. Just being fouled doesn't give any player license to hang on the rim, does it?

This might not apply to the NF, but NCAA Men's does not want a T called on a player that was fouled in the act of shooting while trying to dunk. This was on the NCAA Men's tape last year. I think that philosophy could be appropriately applied when working NF games without a specific interpretation.

Peace

I don't recall anyone saying *not* to call a T on a fouled dunker on that tape. In fact I can't remember a single play where a dunker was fouled and you know who saying "no need to T here, he was fouled".

I do recall seeing lots of dunks, each followed by instructions to T him up.

Mark Dexter Thu Aug 18, 2005 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge

This might not apply to the NF, but NCAA Men's does not want a T called on a player that was fouled in the act of shooting while trying to dunk. This was on the NCAA Men's tape last year. I think that philosophy could be appropriately applied when working NF games without a specific interpretation.

Peace

I tend to think that, if fouled during a dunk, in 99% of cases, there is an issue of safety if the shooter isn't allowed to grab the rim.

By rule, however, I'm sure there's a 1-in-100 situation where the shooter doesn't really have any need to do so. In a dunk, though (not that I've seen a whole bunch in my career), I think I'm leaning towards the safety exception unless he's hanging there for a long time.

Jurassic Referee Thu Aug 18, 2005 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge

This might not apply to the NF, but NCAA Men's does not want a T called on a player that was fouled in the act of shooting while trying to dunk. This was on the NCAA Men's tape last year. I think that philosophy could be appropriately applied when working NF games without a specific interpretation.

Peace

I tend to think that, if fouled during a dunk, in 99% of cases, there is an issue of safety if the shooter isn't allowed to grab the rim.

By rule, however, I'm sure there's a 1-in-100 situation where the shooter doesn't really have any need to do so. In a dunk, though (not that I've seen a whole bunch in my career), I think I'm leaning towards the safety exception unless he's hanging there for a long time.

Whatinthehell are all you people talking about? :confused:

BillyMac didn't say a damn thing about a <b>dunk</b> in his original statement. He said it is illegal to hang on the rim if a player was <b>fouled</b>. PERIOD!! That's an all-inclusive statement, folks. It covers <b>all</b> of the possible different scenarios, not just a dunk. For instance, it covers the case of a defender whacking the shooter as soon as he picked the ball up for a lay-up, with the shooter then continuing his normal motion, laying the ball off the board, and then following through and grabbing the ring and hanging from it. It could also cover a player going up for a tip, being fouled without ever touching the ball, and then grabbing the ring despite never having been put off-balance by the foul and also having nobody underneath him. According to Billy's original verbiage, it's legal to hang from the rim in that case too. Um, don't think so.

Dan_ref Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Whatinthehell are all you people talking about? :confused:

BillyMac didn't say a damn thing about a <b>dunk</b> in his original statement. He said it is illegal to hang on the rim if a player was <b>fouled</b>. PERIOD!! That's an all-inclusive statement, folks. It covers <b>all</b> of the possible different scenarios, not just a dunk. For instance, it covers the case of a defender whacking the shooter as soon as he picked the ball up for a lay-up, with the shooter then continuing his normal motion, laying the ball off the board, and then following through and grabbing the ring and hanging from it. It could also cover a player going up for a tip, being fouled without ever touching the ball, and then grabbing the ring despite never having been put off-balance by the foul and also having nobody underneath him. According to Billy's original verbiage, it's legal to hang from the rim in that case too. Um, don't think so.

Before I tell you to shut up, let me ask 1 question:

this includes dunks too, right?

TIA.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1