The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2001, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 88
Thumbs down

This subject came up because of the announcers Dick Enberg and Bill Walton beat it to death in the Arizona-Michigan State.
Neither coach abused the rule--only acted within that allowed i.e. to talk to the players until they "had" to replace the player.
To be technical, legalistic, i.e. strictly by the book, the player must be replaced within 30 seconds. Therefore, if the warning horn goes off and the player has not reported to the table, then a technical foul should be called.
However, if my 26 years I only called one tech, in this case on a coach who was never going to put a player in until I told him so. Since it is not my responsibility to remind him of the rule, he got the 'T'.
But this would be an exception to the rule.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1