The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Apr 16, 2001, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member

okay I know i am a coach and i should stay out of you officials and your discussions but here is a question-- did you notice more teams are using the time to get a replacement into the game as a timeout?? will not this lead to longer games or do i worry about the little things to much, and also in the movie Hoosiers he never replaced a disqualified player "my team is on the floor" does he have to if he has avaialable players? just a thought thanks
Old Mon Apr 16, 2001, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by rocky
okay I know i am a coach and i should stay out of you officials and your discussions but here is a question-- did you notice more teams are using the time to get a replacement into the game as a timeout?? will not this lead to longer games or do i worry about the little things to much,
The head coach has 30 seconds to replace an injured, diqualified, or improperly equipped player. If he chooses to use that 30 seconds as a many TO, there's nothing that can be done about it. I really don't think there's much danger of the game being prolonged excessively due to such practices.

Quote:
and also in the movie Hoosiers he never replaced a disqualified player "my team is on the floor" does he have to if he has available players? just a thought thanks
No, he must have 5 players on the floor if 5 are available. However, the rule may have been different in 1951. Maybe mick can tell us!

BTW, you're always welcome, even if you are "one of them."

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Old Mon Apr 16, 2001, 10:30pm
In Memoriam

Lightbulb

Quote: