The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2005, 07:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by johnny1784
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
There is no rule saying that a player in a marked lane space can't "lean in". There is no rules basis to ever call a violation for doing so- no matter how far they may be leaning in.
NFHS Rule 9-1-9;

A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any edge of the space (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone.

Note: The restrictions in Articles 6 through 9 apply until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends.
Johnny, is either of the player's feet beyond the vertical plane of line when they're standing behind the line and leaning in?

It might be a good idea to get your local rule interpreter to explain that rule to you.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1